cwrubell | Posted: 20 May 2016 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

48 BYU entries to the 2016 NCAA Track and Field West Preliminaries

main image

PROVO, Utah – BYU track and field has a total of 48 qualified entries for the 2016 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field West Preliminaries May 26-28 in Lawrence, Kansas.

The BYU men have the third most entries in the country to the NCAA Preliminaries with 30 while the women have the 20th highest total at 18. For a complete list of entries to the NCAA Preliminaries, visit

The men's event with the most BYU entries is the 3000m steeplechase – Aaron Fletcher, Mitchell Briggs and Tyler Crofts. Fletcher holds the third-fastest time in the West, Briggs holds the 20th-fastest time and Crofts holds the 36th-fastest time.

Shaquille Walker enters the meet as the No. 1 seed for the men’s 800m and Zachary Blackham will be the No. 7 seed in the men’s high jump.

On the women's side, Shea Martinez-Collinsworth currently holds the third-fastest time in the 800m run and will also be joined by Lauren Ellsworth with the 23rd-fastest time and Kensey Berry with the 40th fastest time.

The event on the women’s side with the most BYU competitors is the pole vault with a total of four qualifiers. Anginae Monteverde, Nicole Naatjes, Sierra Hansen and Kylee Trageser will all be competing.

A full list of athletes and their seed can be found in the table below. Live stats and streaming will be available on the women’s track page. 

Female Qualifiers
Event Athletes and Seed No.


Shea Martinez-Collinsworth (No. 3) 
Lauren Ellsworth (No. 23)
Kensey Berry (No. 40)


Ashleigh Warner (No. 33)

3000m steeplechase

Lauren Shubin (No. 29) 
Kristi Rush (No. 43)


Yesenia Silva (No. 44)
Natalie Shields-Connolly (No. 45)

100m hurdles

Alyssa Monteverde-Dalton (No. 36)

400m hurdles

Kaylee Packham (No. 25)

High Jump

Erin Merkley (No. 16)
Andrea Stapleton (No. 20)

Pole Vault

Anginae Monteverde (No. 16) 
Nicole Naatjes (No. 25) 
Sierra Hansen (No. 29) 
Kylee Trageser (No. 45)


Madison Pachner (No. 11) 
Sadie Nielson (No. 39)

Male Qualifiers
Event Athlete and Seed No.


Tatenda Tsumba (No 19)


Tatenda Tsumba (No.  22)
Jesse White (No. 27)


Jesse White (No. 9)
Tyrell Yardley (No. 33)


Shaquille Walker (No. 1)
Connor Ross (No. 23)


Chase Horrocks (No. 30)
Marcus Dickson (No. 35)

3000m Steeplechase

Aaron Fletcher (No. 3)
Mitchell Briggs (No. 20)
Tyler Crofts (No. 36)


Dylan Shawhan (No. 32)
Rory Linkletter (No. 34)


Connor McMillan (No. 24)
Jonathan Harper (No. 33)
Clayton Young (No. 41)

110m hurdles

Dillon Goodman (No. 44)

400m hurdles

Mark Carlson (No. 20)
Max Scheible (No. 28)


Derek Lord, Tatenda Tsumba, Drew Tingey, Michael Abbott (No. 19)


Tyrell Yardley, Mark Carlson, Jesse White, Shaquille Walker (Max Scheible, Tatenda Tsumba alternates) (No. 17)

High Jump

Zach Blackham (No. 7)

Long Jump

Tomi Adegoke (No. 41)

Shot Put

Dennis Christensen (No. 41)
Jefferson Jarvis (No. 45)


Craig Merkley (No. 43)


Wyatt Warnick (No. 22)
Kraymer Eppich (No. 41)

Recent Stories

BYU men's track and field honored as John McDonell Program of the Year.
BYU men recognized as John McDonnell Program of the Year

The BYU men’s track and field and cross country program has been named the 2022-2023 John McDonnell NCAA Division I Men…

Coach Mark Robison retires after 38 years at BYU
Mark Robison retires after 38 years with BYU track and field

Mark Robison, the longtime BYU track and field coach who has mentored numerous national champions and over 150 All-…