Braden Taylor | Posted: 17 May 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Fifty-two BYU athletes qualify for 2018 NCAA West Prelims

main image

PROVO, Utah – Fifty-two BYU track and field athletes qualified to compete at the 2018 NCAA Division I Track and Field West Preliminaries on May 24-26 in Sacramento, California.

The Cougars rank among the top teams in the West in the number of qualifiers and have increased that total from last year's 46.

The BYU men’s 3000m steeplechase and 10,000m squads qualified a total of 14 athletes as both event groups head into regionals ranked No. 1 in the nation. Matt Owens (No. 2), Daniel Carney (No.4), Clayson Shumway (No. 5) and Jacob Heslington (No. 7) are ranked top-10 regionally in the 3000m steeplechase. Porter Reddish (No. 21) and Garrett Marsing (No. 31) round out the 3000m steeplechase participants.

Connor McMillan (No. 2), Clayton Young (No. 4), Rory Linkletter (No. 5) and Conner Mantz (No. 10) received top-10 seeds in the 10,000m. Dallin Farnsworth (No. 28), Connor Weaver (No. 34), Michael Ottesen (No. 41) and Brayden McLelland (No. 45) conclude the 10,000m group with a team-high eight participants in one event.

Young (No. 6), Linkletter (No. 7), McMillan (No. 8) and Carney (No. 10) will also compete in the men's 5000m for the Cougars.

Andrea Stapleton-Johnson leads BYU’s No. 1 nationally-ranked high jump squad with a No. 4 ranking in the West. Stapleton-Johnson, Nicole Lord (No. 19), Marissa Appiah (No. 30) and Ellyana Long (No. 31) all qualified with season highs at the 2018 BYU Robison Invitational.

Madelyn Dickson sits at No. 10 in the women’s 1500m and is joined in the top 20 by Anna Camp (No. 12), Kate Hunter (No. 15) and Whittni Orton (No. 17). The women’s 3000m steeplechase qualified four athletes as well with Maddie Cannon (No. 11), Olivia Hoj (No. 24), Emma Gee (No. 30) and Sara Musselman (No. 33) all set to compete.

Jefferson Jarvis (No. 26) will compete for the Cougars in the men’s shot put while teammates Seth Knowlton (No. 37) and Jacob Foutz (No. 38) will compete in the discus throw and hammer throw, respectively.

Ashton Riner received the No. 12 slot in the women’s javelin and will throw alongside teammate Payge Cuthbertson (No. 40) while Siale Vaitohi (No. 39) will compete in the women’s hammer throw.

Brenna Porter will compete in the women’s 400m hurdles and ranks No. 6 in the West while teammate Abraham Alvarado received the No. 12 seed in the men’s 800m.

A full list of BYU athletes and their seeds can be found in the table below.

The NCAA West Prelims will take place May 24-26 at Hornet Stadium in Sacramento, California. Live stats and streaming options will be available on the team’s schedule page leading up to the meet.

For a complete list of entries to the NCAA Division I Preliminaries, visit

Female Qualifiers
Event Athletes and Seed No.


Ellie Heiden-Quackenbush (No. 45)


Avery Walker (No. 30)
Claire Seymour (No. 45)


Madelyn Dickson (No. 10)
Anna Camp (No. 12)
Kate Hunter (No. 15)
Whittni Orton (No. 17)

3000m Steeplechase

Maddie Cannon (No. 11)
Olivia Hoj (No. 24)
Emma Gee (No. 30)
Sara Musselman (No. 33)


Ashleigh Warner (No. 23)

100m hurdles

Alyssa Dalton (No. 15)
Nicole Lord (No.45)

400m hurdles

Brenna Porter (No. 6)


BYU (No. 22)
-Lauren Rawlinson
-Cassidy Pinnock
-Ellie Heiden-Quackenbush
-Brenna Porter

High Jump

Andrea Stapleton-Johnson (No. 4)
Nicole Lord (No. 19)
Marissa Appiah (No. 30)
Ellyana Long (No. 31)

Pole Vault

Sierra Hansen (No. 22)

Hammer Throw

Siale Vaitohi-Teaupa (No. 39)


Ashton Riner (No. 12)
Payge Cuthbertson(No. 29)

Male Qualifiers
Event Athlete and Seed No.


Clark Brown (No. 23)
Derek Sorensen (No. 47)


Derek Sorensen (No. 29)
Clark Brown (No. 32)


Abraham Alvarado (No. 12)


Patrick Parker (No. 21)
Talem Franco (No. 26)
Marcus Dickson (No. 47)

3000m Steeplechase

Matt Owens (No. 2)
Daniel Carney (No. 4)
Clayson Shumway (No. 5)
Jacob Heslington (No. 7)
Porter Reddish (No. 21)
Garrett Marsing (No. 31)


Clayton Young (No. 5)
Rory Linkletter (No. 7)
Connor McMillan (No. 8)
Daniel Carney (No. 10)


Connor McMillan (No. 2)
Clayton Young (No. 4)
Rory Linkletter (No. 5)
Conner Mantz (No. 10)
Dallin Farnsworth (No. 28)
Connor Weaver (No. 34)
Michael Ottesen (No. 41)
Brayden McLelland (No. 45)

400m hurdles

Scott Mecham (No. 10)
Max Scheible (No. 18)
Colten Yardley (No. 45)

Pole Vault

Jake Jarvis (No. 37)
Raul Rios (No. 38)

Shot Put

Jefferson Jarvis (No. 26)

Discus Throw Seth Knowlton (No. 37)

Hammer Throw

Jacob Foutz (No. 38)


Recent Stories

Claire Seymour at start of 800m Final during 2023 NCAA Outdoor National Championships
Seymour leads four First Team All-Americans on final day in Austin

No. 19 BYU women’s track and field added four more First Team All-Americans to its vaunted history as the season wound…

Claire Seymour and Meghan Hunter hug after both advance to 800m semifinal
Together again: Seymour and Hunter advance to 800-meter final as outdoor nationals continue

No. 19 BYU women’s track and field saw three athletes advance to Saturday finals and two post Second Team All-American…