Anonymous | Posted: 3 Aug 2011 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Batty Named Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year and 10 Cougars Earn All-Academic Status

main image


NEW ORLEANS -- The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association named senior Miles Batty the Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Batty was the NCAA indoor champion in the mile, with a time of 3:59.49, and also a member of the distance medley relay team that won a national championship.  Majoring in neuroscience and exercise science, Batty has a 3.95 cumulative GPA and was also named the USTFCCCA National Indoor Track Athlete of the Year earlier in the year.

Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest in individual events at the most recent NCAA Championships.

The USTFCCCA also announced the 2011 men’s Division I All-Academic Track & Field team.  Among the 420 student-athletes who received the award, 10 represented BYU.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, student-athletes must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

More information on both awards can be found at

USTFCCCA 2011 Division I Track & Field All-Academic Honorees
  Alden Bahr
  Colby Barber
  Miles Batty
  Jacob Cosby
  Tanner Emrich
  Trevor Heiner
  Cade Lindahl
  Nate Ogden
  Jared Rohatinsky
  Rex Shields

Recent Stories

USTFCCCA recognizes 27 cougars as All-Academic Athletes
USTFCCCA recognizes 27 Cougars with All-Academic Honors

The USTFCCCA recognized 27 BYU men's track and field athletes with All-Academic honors on July 13. 

USATF Steeplechase Champion
Rooks captures USATF steeplechase title with remarkable comeback

BYU distance runner Kenneth Rooks delivered a comeback for the ages to claim the U.S. steeplechase title despite an…