Jack Urquhart | Posted: 23 Jul 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

15 Cougars Named All-Academic

main image

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) named 15 athletes from BYU’s 2013-14 men’s track and field team All-Academic on Tuesday.

BYU received the second most All-Academic honors of any men’s Division I team in the nation, with only one less honoree than Nebraska. BYU led the nation in All-Academic honorees in both the 2011-12 and 2012-13 seasons. BYU’s honorees are (in order of GPA) Mark Carlson, Zachary Blackham, Sam Rockwood, Braydon Bringhurst, Tommy Gruenewald, James Tracy, Conner Peloquin, Jonathan Nelson, Kyle Baker, Alex Ashworth, Curtis Carr, Tylor Thatcher, Jason Witt, Jared Ward and Aaron Fletcher.

All-Academic selections are based on academic success and athletic performance. In order to qualify, athletes must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.25 in the 2013-14 academic year, and must have been ranked in the national top 96 in any individual indoor event, or participated in any round of the Division I Championships in the outdoor season.

Honoree GPA Major
Mark Carlson 3.92 Advertising
Zachary Blackham 3.70 Pre-Industrial Design
Sam Rockwood 3.68 Strategy
Braydon Bringhurst 3.66 Film
Tommy Gruenewald 3.62 Family Studies
James Tracy 3.62 Exercise Science
Conner Peloquin 3.56 Marketing Management
Jonathan Nelson 3.55 Statistics
Kyle Baker 3.41 Exercise Science
Alex Ashworth 3.39 Neuroscience
Curtis Carr 3.36 Economics
Tylor Thatcher 3.36 Chemical Engineering
Jason Witt 3.32 Actuarial Science
Jared Ward 3.28 Statistical Science
Aaron Fletcher 3.25 Economics

A complete list of All-Academic honorees can be found here.

Recent Stories

USTFCCCA recognizes 27 cougars as All-Academic Athletes
USTFCCCA recognizes 27 Cougars with All-Academic Honors

The USTFCCCA recognized 27 BYU men's track and field athletes with All-Academic honors on July 13. 

USATF Steeplechase Champion
Rooks captures USATF steeplechase title with remarkable comeback

BYU distance runner Kenneth Rooks delivered a comeback for the ages to claim the U.S. steeplechase title despite an…