admin | Posted: 16 Dec 2011 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

FBS All-Independent Postseason Awards Announced

main image

The 2011 FBS All-Independent Team and individual Players of the Year have been named by the nationwide media panel responsible for FBS Independent Player of the Week awards. 

Notre Dame wide receiver Michael Floyd (Offensive Player of the Year), Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o (Defensive Player of the Year), Notre Dame kick returner George Atkinson III (Special Teams Player of the Year) and BYU wide receiver Ross Apo (Freshman of the Year) received individual honors.  

Apo caught 34 passes for 453 yards and a team-leading nine touchdowns. A redshirt freshman, Apo caught one touchdown in each of the first three games and caught two in each of the final two contests.

BYU had seven players named to the All-Independent Team, second to Notre Dame's 12 selections. Navy had three players named and Army had two. In addition to the Cougars' seven selections, BYU also had eight players receive honorable mention.

Riley Nelson was selected as the All-Independent quarterback. Nelson led BYU to a 5-1 record as a starter and threw for 1,467 yards and 16 touchdowns while adding 376 rushing yards. One of just four sophomores to make the team, wide receiver Cody Hoffman has 53 receptions for 821 yards and seven touchdowns this season. Offensive linemen Matt Reynolds and Braden Hansen also were named to the offensive team.

On defense, linebacker Kyle Van Noy, also one of just four sophomores to earn selection, was recognized along with senior defensive backs Travis Uale and Corby Eason. Van Noy is second on BYU's team with 58 tackles and also leads the Cougars with 10.0 tackles for loss and 5.0 sacks. The sophomore from Reno, Nev., also has three interceptions, nine quarterback hurries, three pass breakups, two forces fumbles, blocked one punt and recovered a fumble for a touchdown.

The 2011 All-Independent team, individual honorees and players receiving honorable mention are listed below:
FBS All-Independent Team
QB Riley Nelson (Jr.) BYU
RB Cierre Wood (Jr.) Notre Dame
RB Raymond Maples (So.) Army
WR Michael Floyd (Sr.) Notre Dame
WR Cody Hoffman (So.) BYU
TE Tyler Eifert (Jr.) Notre Dame
OL John Dowd (Sr.) Navy
OL Trevor Robinson (Sr.) Notre Dame
OL Braden Hansen (Jr.) BYU
OL Zack Martin (Jr.) Notre Dame
OL Matt Reynolds (Sr.) BYU
DL Aaron Lynch (Fr.) Notre Dame
DL Louis Nix III (So.) Notre Dame
DL Jabaree Tuani (Sr.) Navy
LB Manti Te'o (Jr.) Notre Dame
LB Steven Erzinger (Sr.) Army
LB Kyle Van Noy (So.) BYU
LB Matt Warrick (Jr.) Navy
DB Harrison Smith (Sr.) Notre Dame
DB Robert Blanton (Sr.) Notre Dame
DB Travis Uale (Sr.) BYU
DB Corby Eason (Sr.) BYU
K/P David Ruffer (Sr.) Notre Dame
KR George Atkinson III (Fr.) Notre Dame
FBS Independent Players of the Year
WR Michael Floyd (Sr.) Notre Dame
LB Manti Te'o (Jr.) Notre Dame
KR George Atkinson III (Fr.) Notre Dame
WR Ross Apo (Fr.) BYU

FBS All-Independent Team Honorable Mention

ARMY OL Ryan Powis (Fr.), OL Robert Kava (Sr.), DL Zack Watts (Jr.), LB Geoffrey Bacon (Fr.), FB Larry Dixon (Fr.)
BYU RB JJ Di Luigi (Sr.), OL Terence Brown (Sr.), DL Hebron Fangupo (Sr.), LB Brandon Ogletree (Jr.), DB Preston Hadley (Jr.), DB Daniel Sorensen (So.), K Justin Sorensen (So.), P Riley Stephenson (Jr.)
NAVY QB Kriss Proctor (Sr.), FB Alexander Teich (Sr.), OL Brady DeMell (Sr.), OL Ryan Basford (Sr.), LB/DB Tra'ves Bush (Jr.), DB David Sperry (Jr.), S Chris Ferguson (Fr.)
NOTRE DAME QB Tommy Rees (So.), RB Jonas Gray (Sr.), DL Taylor Dever (Sr.), LB Darius Fleming (Sr.), DB Jamoris Slaughter (Sr.), DB Gary Gray (Sr.)



The FBS All-Independent Team and Players of the Year were selected by members of a nationwide media panel, which includes equal representation from each of the independent institutions’ coverage markets.

Recent Stories

Connor Pay 2023 Rimington Trophy
Pay selected to the Rimington Trophy watchlist for a second year

BYU center Connor Pay was named to the 2023 Rimington Trophy preseason watchlist for the second season in row.

John Mackey Award 2023 Isaac Rex
Rex named to the Mackey watch list for a third consecutive season

For the third straight year, BYU junior Isaac Rex has been named to the John Mackey Award Watch List, presented…