Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. Dating back to 1937, this award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist. Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club and sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country.

BYU quarterback Ty Detmer took home the Maxwell Award as college football's best player in 1990. Detmer won the Heisman and Davey O'Brien the same year. The Maxwell Award voting - by college coaches, the media and members of the Maxwell Football Club - had the same order of finish as the Heisman. Detmer had 1,993 points; followed by Raghib "Rocket" Ismail of Notre Dame with 1,385; Eric Bieniemy of Colorado with 747 and Shawn Moore of Virginia with 431.

Detmer's Noteworthy Stats:

  • 15,031 passing yards
  • 5,188 passing yards in 1990
  • Three seasons of over 4,000 passing yards
  • 121 passing touchdowns
  • 42 NCAA records
  • 41 touchdowns in 1990
  • Two-time All-American (1990-91)