Joseph Hovey | Posted: 1 Apr 2023 | Updated: 14 Apr 2023

Seymour, Chamberlain and Rohatinsky record 800-meter wins at Stanford

main image
Claire Seymour competes in the 800-meters at the 2022 NCAA West Preliminary.

PROVO, Utah — Claire Seymour, Riley Chamberlain and Taylor Rohatinsky each won their 800-meter sections as BYU women’s track and field concluded competition at the Stanford Invitational and Texas Relays on Saturday.

Stanford Invitational

Cobb Track and Angell Field | Stanford, California

Seymour came within six-hundredths of a second from a new personal-best as she clocked 2:01.96 to win Section One of the 800m. Meghan Hunter took sixth in the section at 2:07.20.

Freshmen Chamberlain and Rohatinsky won Sections Four and Five, respectively. Chamberlain crossed the finish at 2:06.62, just passing Madison Mooney of Wisconsin. Rohatinsky clocked 2:09.26 and was followed in short order by teammates Carmen Alder (2:09.51) and Alissa Fielding (2:09.56).

Sadie Sargent clipped nearly three seconds off her previous best to take third in Section Three at 2:06.79.

Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays

Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium | Austin, Texas

BYU women’s field events occupied the Cougars’ final day in Austin. Cierra Tidwell Allphin cleared 1.79-meters/5-10.5 to finish seventh in the high jump. Pole vaulter Cailee Faulkner tied for 11th at 4.00m/13-1.5. Faulkner’s flight included some of the nation’s top vaulters, including Marleen Mulla of South Dakota, Filippa Miller of Florida International and national-leader Kenna Stimmel of Virginia Tech.

The Cougars return to action at USC’s Trojan Invitational in Los Angeles, California April 7-8.

Recent Stories

USTFCCCA All-Academic
Eighteen Cougars receive USTFCCCA All-Academic honors

Eighteen BYU women received All-Academic honors as the USTFCCCA released its 2023 track and field academic awards July…

Lexy Hallady-Lowry
Current and former BYU women shine at U.S.A. championships

Six current and former BYU women competed at the U.S.A. Track and Field Championships July 6-9 at Hayward Field.