Kyle Chilton | Posted: 5 Mar 2020 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Childs named one of five finalists for 2020 Karl Malone Award

main image
Photo of Yoeli Childs in a graphic layout with the text Top-5 Finalist Yoeli Childs

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today that BYU forward Yoeli Childs is one of five finalists for the 2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its sixth year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. 

The other four finalists for the 2020 Karl Malone Award are Obi Toppin (Dayton), Killian Tillie (Gonzaga), Jalen Smith (Maryland) and Reggie Perry (Mississippi State).

Childs, named to the All-West Coast Conference First Team earlier this week, is averaging 22.2 points, 8.9 rebounds and 2.1 assists while shooting 58.6 percent from the field and 48.8 percent from 3-point range. A finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and a two-time WCC Player of the Week, Childs has posted seven double-doubles and scored 20-plus points 11 times. He has led the No. 15 Cougars back into the top 25 for the first time since 2011.

“We’re happy to recognize these elite power forwards as finalists for this tremendous award,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Combined with our fan voting component, our committee and Mr. Malone will be watching to determine who will take home this prestigious award this season. We’re looking forward to some really great performances when it matters most.”

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 student-athletes in October, which was narrowed to 10 candidates in early February and now just five finalists. This month, the finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Naismith Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, March 6, via

“I have thoroughly enjoyed watching these young men compete this season, as leaders on the court and in the locker room,” said Karl Malone, Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2010. “Working alongside the committee in choosing a winner has been a great joy, and we look forward to watching as these players compete in the coming weeks.”

The winner of the 2020 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting Five. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Additional information about the telecast will be released by ESPN in the coming weeks.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015). 

For more information and the latest updates on the 2020 Karl Malone Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram.

About Karl Malone
Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame 
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.

Basketball Hall of Fame Media Contact
Nicole Taylor, Position Sports //

Recent Stories

Michael Davie Hiring Graphic
Davie named BYU men’s basketball director of strength and conditioning & sports science

BYU men’s basketball head coach Mark Pope announced Friday that Michael Davie has been named the men’s basketball…

BYU vs. Gonzaga 2022-23
Big 12 announces 2023-24 men’s basketball conference opponents

The Big 12 Conference has announced the scheduling matrix for the 2023-24 men’s basketball season. BYU will play an 18-…