wweekes | Posted: 14 Nov 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Nelson named Wuerffel Trophy finalist

main image

PROVO, Utah – Senior quarterback Riley Nelson was announced today as one of the eight finalists for the 2012 Wuerffel Trophy, the national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

"The All Sports Association membership is honored to recognize the 2012 Wuerffel Trophy finalists and nominees,” commented All Sports President Chad Hamilton.  “These student athletes embody the Wuerffel Trophy traits of service, character, and excellence, and they are outstanding ambassadors for college football.”

A native of Logan, Utah, Nelson has completed 153 of 255 passes for 1,676 yards and 12 touchdowns while adding 172 yards rushing and one touchdown. A 2012 team captain, Nelson is No. 3 all-time at BYU in career quarterback rushing yards with 834 yards.

Off the field, Nelson has taken part in numerous programs, including the Heart2Home Foundation, the Buff Don’t Puff program, BYU Sports Heroes Day, Boy Scouts of America, and other engagements speaking to youth across the state. Nelson was named to the 2010 AllState AFCA Good Works Team. Nelson has also been honored as a Mountain West Conference Scholar Athlete.

Below is a complete list of finalists:

Riley Nelson, Senior – Quarterback – Brigham Young
Cody Wilson, Senior – Wide Receiver – Central Michigan
Dustin Hopkins, Senior – Kicker – Florida State
Aaron Murray, Junior - Quarterback – Georgia
Matt Smith, Senior – Center – Kentucky
Ben Buchanan, Senior – Punter - Ohio State
Gabe Ikard, Junior – Offensive Line – Oklahoma
Matt Barkley, Senior – Quarterback – Southern California

A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced on December 4th. 

“It seems like every year the bios of these young men get more and more amazing. And this year is no different. I continue to be greatly encouraged by all the things these guys do to serve others,” said Danny Wuerffel.

Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger / LSU; 2006-Joel Penton / Ohio State; 2007/Paul Smith-Tulsa; 2008/Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller/Western Michigan, 2010-Sam Acho/Texas; 2011-Barrett Jones/Alabama.

The 2012 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 44th Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, February 8, 2013.

For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.

Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.