Duff Tittle | Posted: 3 Aug 2023 | Updated: 7 Aug 2023

Batty named to the 2023 Wuerffel Trophy watch list

main image
Tyler Batty 2023 Wuerffel Trophy


ATLANTA — BYU defensive end Tyler Batty was named Thursday to the Wuerffel Trophy watch list for a second consecutive season.

Established in 2005, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership and achievement on and off the field. 

Batty, a 6-5, 270-pound junior from Payson, Utah, was recently selected to the 2023 Athlon Sports Preseason All-Big 12 Fourth Team and was also named as a candidates for the prestigious Allstate American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team.

As a sophomore in 2022, Batty started 12 games for BYU and finished the season as the teams fifth-leading tackler with 52, including 29 solo. The previous year he was named to the Pro Football Network All-Independent Second Team Defense after leading the Cougars in sacks with 3.5 and finishing fourth in tackles with 43 as a freshman. 

In addition to his success on the field, Batty is involved in variety of community service endeavors. He founded and operates Edward’s Hands, a non-profit organization that provides equine therapy for children with autism, which provides a powerful bonding experience with their parents.

Batty also volunteers with Kids On The Move, an ABA therapy program in Utah County, and works closely with the BYU Built4Life program that develops student-athletes through a variety of professional experiences with a focus on service within the community.

Additionally, Batty assists with the True Blue Hero program run by the BYU football team and served a two-year volunteer service mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Malaga and Madrid, Spain from 2017-19.

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Heisman Trophy winner, College Football Hall of Famer and renowned humanitarian Danny Wuerffel, whose life mission is to inspire greater service in the world.

Semifinalists for the Wuerffel Trophy will be announced on Nov. 2 with the finalists being announced on Nov. 28. The formal announcement of the 2023 Wuerffel Trophy recipient is scheduled to be made in early December during The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The presentation of the award will take place on Feb. 17, 2024, at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.


Wuerffel Trophy Watch List

Name University Year Position
Malachi Moore Alabama Senior Defensive Back
Jackson Bratton Alabama-Birmingham Junior Linebacker
Miller Gibbs Appalachian State Senior Tight End
Jordan Morgan Arizona Senior Offensive Line
Traivion Brown Arizona State Senior Linebacker
Cam Little Arkansas Junior Kicker
Justin Parks Arkansas State Junior Safety
Austin Hill Army Senior Defensive Line
Elijah McAllister Auburn Senior Linebacker
Clayton Coll Ball State Senior Linebacker
Alfonzo Allen Baylor Sophomore Safety
Demitri Washington Boise State Grad DE/Edge
Taji Johnson Boston College Senior Wide Receiver
Abdul-Fatai Ibrahim Bowling Green State Senior Wide Receiver
Austin Osborne Bowling Green State Senior Wide Receiver
Brock Horne Bowling Green State Senior Linebacker
Darren Anders Bowling Green State Senior Linebacker
Demetrius Hardamon Bowling Green State Senior Linebacker
Max Michel Buffalo Grad Defensive End
Tyler Batty BYU Junior DE/Edge
Matthew Cindric California Senior Offensive Line
Robi Stuart Central Michigan Grad Defensive Line
Mike Kelly Charlotte Junior Defensive Line
Jowon Briggs Cincinnati Senior Defensive End
Will Shipley Clemson Junior Running Back
CJ Beasley Coastal Carolina Junior Running Back
Joshka Gustav Colorado Senior Linebacker
Christian Haynes Connecticut Senior Offensive Line
Jackson Mitchell Connecticut Senior Linebacker
Ja'Mion Franklin Duke Senior Defensive Tackle
Brian Dooley Eastern Michigan Grad Offensive Line
Jeramy Passmore FIU Junior Defensive Line
Derek Wingo Florida Junior Linebacker
Jared Verse Florida State Junior Defensive End
Levelle Bailey Fresno State Senior Linebacker
Ladd McConkey Georgia Junior WR/PR
LaMiles Brooks Georgia Tech Junior Defensive Back
Jonah Kahahawai-Welch Hawai‘i Senior Defensive End
Jack Freeman Houston Senior Offensive Line
Isaiah Williams Illinois Junior Wide Receiver
Gerry Vaughn Iowa State Senior Linebacker
Camden Wise James Madison Senior Kicker
Jalon Daniels Kansas Junior Quarterback
Will Howard Kansas State Senior Quarterback
J.J. Weaver Kentucky Senior Linebacker
X’Zauvea Gadlin Liberty Grad Offensive Line
Ben Wooldridge Louisiana Senior Quarterback
Abraham Delfin Louisiana Tech  Senior OLine/Center
Ashton Gillotte Louisville Junior DE/Edge
Josh Williams LSU Senior Running Back
Logan Osburn Marshall  Junior Center
Cormontae Hamilton Memphis Junior Defensive Line
Kam Kinchens Miami (FL) Junior Safety
Tre Mosley Michigan State Senior Wide Receiver
Teldrick Ross Middle Tennessee State Senior Cornerback
JJ Pegues Mississippi Senior Defensive Tackle
Will Rogers Mississippi State Senior Quarterback
Realus George Jr. Missouri Senior Defensive Tackle
Xavier McDonald Navy Senior Linebacker
Joseph Shimko NC State Senior Long snapper
Canaan Yarro New Mexico State Junior OLine/Center
Elijah Green North Carolina Junior Running Back
Kaimon Rucker North Carolina Senior JACK (LB/DE)
Kevin Wood North Texas Senior Linebacker
JD Bertrand Notre Dame Senior Linebacker
Ethan Downs Oklahoma Junior Defensive Line
Brennan Presley Oklahoma State Senior Wide Receiver
LaMareon James Old Dominion Junior CB/KR
Trikweze Bridges Oregon Junior Defensive Back
Akili Arnold Oregon State Junior Defensive Back
Dvon Ellies Penn State Senior Defensive Tackle
David Green Pittsburgh Senior Defensive Tackle
Gavin Bartholomew Pittsburgh Junior Tight End
Myron Morrison Rice Junior Linebacker
Trevor Williams Sam Houston Senior Linebacker
Tre Jenkins San Jose State Grad NB/Safety
Preston Stone SMU Sophomore Quarterback
Carter Bradley South Alabama Senior Quarterback
Dakereon Joyner South Carolina Senior Running Back
Ben Knox South Florida Junior Cornerback
Justin Dedich Southern California Senior Offensive Line
John Humphreys Stanford Senior Wide Receiver
Garrett Shrader Syracuse Senior Quarterback
Jalen McMurray Temple Sophomore Cornerback
Jacob Warren Tennessee Senior Tight End
Christian Jones Texas Senior Offensive Line
Max Wright Texas A&M Senior Tight End
Josh Newton TCU Senior Defensive Back
Tony Bradford Jr. Texas Tech Senior Defensive Tackle
Dallas Gant Toledo Senior Linebacker
Clayton Ollendieck Troy Senior Tight End
Michael Pratt Tulane Junior Quarterback
Dorian Hopkins Tulsa Senior Linebacker
Chase Griffin UCLA Senior Quarterback
Jordyn Morgan UNLV Junior Safety
De’Corian Clark UTSA Senior Wide Receiver
Jacob Garcia Utah State Junior Long snapper
Ethan Barr Vanderbilt Senior Linebacker
Chico Bennett, Jr. Virginia  Grad DE/Edge
Matt Johnson Virginia Tech Senior Linebacker

Recent Stories

QB Fall 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 3—OC Aaron Roderick and Quarterbacks Preview

BYU football had its third practice on Thursday afternoon as it continues its first week of fall camp for the 2023…

Ray Guy Award 2023 Ryan Rehkow
Rehkow selected to the Ray Guy Award watch list for a third year

BYU punter Ryan Rehkow has been named to the preseason watch list for the 2023 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s…