Duff Tittle | Posted: 1 Aug 2023 | Updated: 5 Aug 2023

BYU offensive lineman Suamataia named to the Outland Trophy Watch List

main image
Kingsley Suamataia 2023 Outland Trophy

DALLAS — BYU preseason All-American offensive lineman Kingsley Suamataia was named Tuesday to the Outland Trophy Watch List by the Football Writers Association of America.

Since 1946, the Outland Trophy has been awarded annually to the best college football interior lineman and is named after John H. Outland, one of just a few players ever to be named an All-American at two positions.

Suamataia, a 6-6, 315-pound sophomore from Orem, Utah, was previously named to the College Football News Preseason All-America Second Team. In addition, he was selected to the Athlon Sports 2023 All-Big 12 Third Team, the Phil Steele Preseason All-Big 12 Fourth Team and the Big 12 Conference Preseason All-Big 12 Team by media representatives who cover the league.

As a redshirt freshman in 2022, Suamataia started 12 games for BYU and was named Freshman All-American Second Team by The Athletic. He was also named College Football Network All-Independent First Team, Phil Steele All-Independent Second Team and Midseason Freshman All-American Second Team by College Football News.

The 2023 Outland Trophy Watch List features 89 student-athletes from 65 FBS schools. The Big 12 Conference had 10 players honored, representing nine schools, including one each from its four new members—BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF. 

BYU boasts two previous winners of the prestigious Outland Trophy. Offensive lineman Mo Elewonibi won the award in 1989 and defensive lineman Jason Buck earned the trophy in 1986. 

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, by individual ballot, then select the winner. 

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA includes many of college football’s most prestigious awards. The recipient of the 2023 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, live on ESPN in December. 

The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in Omaha, Nebraska on Jan. 10, 2024.

Founded in 1941, the Football Writers Association of America consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all areas of football. 


Outland Trophy Watch List (89 candidates)

G Isaiah Adams, Illinois
OT Joe Alt, Notre Dame
OT Kelvin Banks Jr., Texas
OT Graham Barton, Duke
OT Cooper Beebe, Kansas State
G Cade Bennett, San Diego State
OT Cade Beresford, Boise State
DT Jordan Bertagnole, Wyoming
G Keaton Bills, Utah
G Tyler Booker, Alabama
DT Brandon Brown, UTSA
OT Jeremiah Byers, Florida State
OT Will Campbell, LSU
DT James Carpenter, James Madison
DT Ken dy Charles, Liberty
DT Elijah Chatman, SMU
C Duke Clemens, UCLA
G Javion Cohen, Miami
OT Josh Conerly Jr., Oregon
DT Dontay Corleone, Cincinnati
G Khalil Crowder, Georgia Southern
C Ethan Crowe, Ball State
DT Jaden Crumedy, Mississippi State
DT Tyler Davis, Clemson
C Justin Dedich, USC
OT Olu Fashanu, Penn State
OT Troy Fautanu, Washington
G Connor Finucane, Army
OT Blake Fisher, Notre Dame
OT Javon Foster, Missouri
C Zach Frazier, West Virginia
OT Taliese  Fuaga, Oregon State
OT X'Zauvea Gadlin, Liberty
G A.J. Gillie, Louisiana
OT Matt Goncalves, Pitt
OT Joshua Gray, Oregon State
DT Mike Hall, Ohio State
OT Makai Hart, UTSA
C Gus Hartwig, Purdue
OT Christian Haynes, UConn
C Sincere Haynesworth, Tulane
C Isaiah Helms, App State
DT Tonka Hemingway, South Carolina
C Bryan Hudson, Louisville
G Jarrod Hufford, Iowa State
DT Jaylon Hutchings, Texas Tech
DT McKinley Jackson, Texas A&M
G Donovan Jackson, Ohio State
DT Kris Jenkins, Michigan
G Matt Jones, Ohio State
OT Emery Jones, LSU
G Trevor Keegan, Michigan
OT Nick Kidwell, James Madison
G Jarrett Kingston, USC
OT JC Latham, Alabama
OT Sataoa Laumea, Utah
G Quantavious Leslie, WKU
OT KT Leveston, Kansas State
C Beaux Limmer, Arkansas
G Christian Mahogany, Boston College
DT Fish McWilliams, UAB
OT Jordan Morgan, Arizona
C Drake Nugent, Michigan
DT Jaheim Oatis, Alabama
DT Ruke Orhorhoro, Clemson
G Justin Osborne, SMU
C Thor Paglialong, Air Force
OT Patrick Paul, Houston
G Lokahi Pauole, UCF
OT Micah Pettus, Ole Miss
G Prince Pines, Tulane
OT Nolan Potter, NIU
G Deiyantei Powell-Woods, Central Michigan
DT Keith Randolph, Illinois
G Tate Ratledge, Georgia
DT Kennedy Roberts, Coastal Carolina
DT Justin Rogers, Auburn
OT Nick Rosi, Toledo
G Keylan Rutledge, Middle Tennessee
OT Jonah Savaiinaea, Arizona
OT Clay Servin, Rice
DT Nazir Stackhouse, Georgia
OT Kingsley Suamataia, BYU
DT Junior Tafuna, Utah
C Sedrick Van Pran, Georgia
G Mose Vavao, Fresno State
DT Deone Walker, Kentucky
DT Daymond Williams, Buffalo
G Bucky Williams, App State
DT Mekhi Wingo, LSU
G Zak Zinter, Michigan

Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.