Duff Tittle | Posted: 30 Jul 2023 | Updated: 3 Aug 2023

BYU long snapper Riggs named to the Patrick Mannelly Award watch list

main image
Austin Riggs 2023 Patrick Mannelly Award

HARRISBURG, Pa. — BYU long snapper Austin Riggs has been named to the watch list for the 2023 Patrick Mannelly Award, presented annually to the top long snapper in college football.

Riggs, a junior from Eagle, Idaho, has appeared in 28 games for the Cougars over the past three seasons (2020-22) as the long snapper. Coming off an injury-shortened season in 2022, Riggs first earned the starting role as a freshman in 2020 on punt team and then added field goal and PAT duties to his role as the team's primary snapper.

In 2021, Riggs played in all 13 games helping BYU achieve a 10-3 season and No. 19 final ranking. He delivered on-target deep snaps on 39 punts throughout the season as well as all of his PAT and field goal snaps. He has added three tackles on special teams during his three seasons.

The Patrick Mannelly Award was created in 2019. It was named in honor of Patrick Mannelly, widely known as one of the premier long snappers in the modern NFL era. Mannelly was a four-year starter at long snapper and two-year starter at offensive line at Duke University before being drafted by the Chicago Bears in the sixth round of the 1998 NFL Draft. He went on to become the Bears career leader in games played with 245 over 16 seasons and was the recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.
The recipient of the Patrick Mannelly Award is determined annually by a committee comprised of former NFL long snappers, punters, kickers, special team coaches, snapping instructors, NFL player agents and sportswriters. The Award benefits Bernie’s Book Bank, a non-profit organization located in Lake Bluff, Illinois.

Previous winners of the Patrick Mannelly Award include John Shannon, Notre Dame (2019); Thomas Fletcher, Alabama (2020); Cal Adomitis, Pitt (2021); and Chris Stoll, Penn State (2022). 

Ten semi-finalists for the 2023 award will be announced on Nov. 13. That list will be narrowed to three finalists on Nov. 27. The winner will be announced at a live award ceremony in Lake Bluff on Dec. 9.

Patrick Mannelly Award Watch List

Name School
Austin Brinkman West Virginia
Austin Riggs BYU
Bailey Parsons Stanford
Brady Weeks Minnesota
Brent Matiscik TCU
Drew Little UNC
Eli Stein Arkansas
Ethan Hudak Tulane
Gavin Gately Houston
Hunter Rogers South Carolina
James Rosenberry Florida State
Joe Shimko NC State
Kneeland Hibbett Alabama
Marco Ortiz Nebraska
Michael Vinson Notre Dame
Peter Bowden Wisconsin
Quentin Skinner Troy
Randen Plattner Kansas State
Sean Wracher Indiana
Simon Samarzich Washington State
Slade Roy LSU
Slater Zellers  Arizona State
Wesley Schelling Vanderbilt
William Mote Georgia
William Wagner Michigan

Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.