Ari Davis | Posted: 19 Dec 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Phil Steele All-Independent Team features seven BYU football players

main image

CLEVELAND – Seven BYU football players have been named to the 2018 Phil Steele All-Independent Team.

Four BYU football players earned first-team honors including defensive lineman Corbin Kaufusi, linebacker Sione Takitaki, offensive tackle Austin Hoyt and tight end Matt Bushman. Second-team selections include linebacker Isaiah Kaufusi, punter Rhett Almond and long snapper Mitch Harris.

Corbin Kaufusi led the team with 9.5 tackles for loss, including 8.5 sacks. He ranks No. 5 all-time at BYU for total career sacks with 17. He finished the season with 56 total tackles including 38 solo stops. Takitaki leads the team in total tackles at 99 with 65 solo stops. The linebacker has tallied 8.0 tackles for loss, two sacks and one forced fumble.

Bushman leads the team with 459 total receiving yards on 25 receptions, averaging 18.4 yards per catch. The tight end has totaled six touchdowns this season and caught a career-long 39 yard reception at No. 11 Washington. Hoyt has started and played in all 12 games this season, totaling 30 starts over his career.

Isaiah Kaufusi finished the season with 50 tackles including 30 solo stops. He tallied two interceptions, six tackles for loss, and one sack on the season.

As BYU’s primary punter, Almond has racked up 2,177 total yards, averaging 40.3 yards per punt. Harris is the Cougars' primary long snapper for field goals, PATs and punts. He has two tackles with the special teams unit and forced one fumble against No. 10 Washington.

Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.