rachelhawks | Posted: 20 Aug 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Apo named to Earl Campbell Award Watch List

main image

PROVO, Utah--For the second straight year BYU wide receiver Ross Apo was named to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List Wednesday.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity--specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college. 

Apo has come back from three shoulder surgeries and a finger injury during his time at BYU. Last season he played in all but one game (due to injury), picking up two touchdowns against Houston and averaging 14.6 yards per reception.

The watch list will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists in November and then to four finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and the previous winner. The finalists will be brought to Tyler, Texas, for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for Jan. 14, 2015.

This year's watch list includes:

  • 43 players from nine different conferences (ACC, AAC, Big 10,Big 12, CUSA, MWC, Pac 12, SEC, Sunbelt) and three independents 
  • Players representing universities from 22 different states
  • Wide receivers dominate the nominations with 17, followed by running backs (12), quarterbacks (eight), tight ends (three), fullbacks (two) and one halfback
  • Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty, last year's award recipient, is again on the Watch List

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was announced in 2012 by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler. 

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the University of Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1,744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns’ first Heisman Trophy.

He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing three times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin, Texas.

Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.