admin | Posted: 18 Dec 2013 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

2013 FBS All-Independent Postseason Awards announced

main image

Kyle Van Noy named Defensive Player of the Year; Seven Cougars named to the team and 12 honored overall

The 2013 FBS All-Independent Team and individual Players of the Year have been named by the nationwide media panel responsible for the FBS Independent Player of the Week awards.

Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds (Offensive Player of the Year), BYU linebacker Kyle Van Noy (Defensive Player of the Year), Idaho placekicker/punter Austin Rehkow (Special Teams Player of the Year) and Notre Dame linebacker Jaylon Smith (Freshman of the Year) received individual honors.

Unanimous selections to the All-Independent Team were BYU running back Jamaal Williams, Army running back Terry Baggett, BYU safety Daniel Sorensen and Notre Dame cornerback Bennett Jackson.

In addition to earning Defensive Player of the Year honors, Van Noy received FBS All-Independent Team recognition for third straight season. He is joined by Sorensen, fellow BYU linebacker Uani 'Unga and defensive lineman Eathyn Manumaleuna as members of the team on defense. Offensive tackle Michael Yeck joins Williams as BYU selections on offense while Adam Hine received return specialist recognition for the Cougars on special teams. BYU's Craig Bills (DB), Taysom Hill (QB), Cody Hoffman (WR), JD Falslev (PR) and Justin Sorensen (PK) received honorable mention.

Notre Dame's Louis Nix III (DL) and Zack Martin (OL) joined Van Noy as the only three-time selections to the team. Notre Dame also had repeat honorees from 2012 in TJ Jones (WR), Chris Watt (OL), Stephon Tuitt (DL) and Kyle Brindza (PK). In all, Notre Dame placed nine players on the team, followed by BYU's seven selections and Navy's four honorees. Army and Idaho each had two players named to the team and New Mexico State had one selection. 

The team consisted of 13 seniors, eight juniors, three sophomores and one freshman. Last year's freshman honoree, Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds, was one of three sophomores earning placement on the team along wtih BYU's Williams and Hine. 

The FBS All-Independent Team and Players of the Year were selected by members of a nationwide media panel, which includes equal representation from each of the independent institutions’ coverage markets. 

The 2013 FBS All-Independent Team, individual honorees and players receiving honorable mention are listed below:
FBS All-Independent Team
QB Keenan Reynolds (So.) Navy
RB Terry Baggett (Jr.) Army
RB Jamaal Williams (So.) BYU
WR Dezmon Epps (Jr.) Idaho
WR TJ Jones (Sr.) Notre Dame
TE Troy Niklas (Jr.) Notre Dame
OL Michael Kime (Sr.) Army
OL Michael Yeck (Jr.) BYU
OL Bradyn Heap (Jr.) Navy
OL Zack Martin (Sr.) Notre Dame
OL Chris Watt (Sr.)  Notre Dame
DL Eathyn Manumaleuna (Sr.) BYU
DL Louis Nix III (Sr.)  Notre Dame
DL Stephon Tuitt (Jr.)  Notre Dame
LB Cody Peterson (Sr.)  Navy
LB Uani ‘Unga (Sr.)  BYU
LB Kyle Van Noy (Sr.) BYU
LB Dan Fox (Sr.)  Notre Dame
DB Daniel Sorensen (Sr.) BYU
DB Parrish Gaines (Jr.)  Navy
DB Davis Cazares (Sr.)  New Mexico State
DB Bennett Jackson (Sr.)  Notre Dame
PK Kyle Brindza (Jr.)  Notre Dame
P Austin Rehkow (Fr.)  Idaho
KR Adam Hine (So.)  BYU
FBS Independent Players of the Year
WR Keenan Reynolds (So.) Navy
LB Kyle Van Noy (Sr.) BYU
PK/P Austin Rehkow (Fr.)  Idaho
LB Jaylon Smith (Fr.) Notre Dame


ARMY PK Daniel Grochowski (So.), OL Ryan Powis (Jr.), OL Stephen Shumaker (Jr.)
BYU DB Craig Bills (Jr.), QB Taysom Hill (So.), WR Cody Hoffman (Sr.), KR JD Falslev (Sr.), PK Justin Sorensen (Sr.)
IDAHO DL QuayShawne Buckley (Sr.), DL Maxx Forde (Jr.), LB Marc Millan (Jr.), OL Mike Marboe (Jr.), DB Trey Williams (Sr.)
NAVY P Pablo Beltran (Jr.), CB Brendon Clements (Fr.), LB Chris Johnson (Jr.), KR Marcus Thomas (Sr.), OL Jake Zuzek (Jr.)
NEW MEXICO STATE OL Andy Cunningham (So.), WR Austin Franklin (Jr.), LB Trashaun Nixon (Sr.), OL Davonte Wallace (Sr.)
NOTRE DAME KR George Atkinson III (Jr.), OL Nick Martin (Jr.), QB Tommy Rees (Sr.), CB KeiVarae Russell (So.), LB Prince Shembo (Sr.)




Recent Stories

Camp Helmet 2023
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 5—BYU Football History and Notables

BYU football wrapped up its first week of fall camp with its fifth practice on Saturday morning. 

Kicking 2023 Fall
2023 Fall Camp: Practice 4—Kelly Poppinga and Specialists Preview

BYU football practiced Friday for its fourth session of fall camp as the Cougars continue their first week.