admin | Posted: 27 Jul 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Ten Cougars named to WCC Commissioner's Honor Roll

main image

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Ten members of the BYU women’s cross country team were named to the West Coast Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll for 2016-17, the league announced Thursday.

Olivia Hoj, Alice Jensen, Kristi Rush and Madelyn Brooks all earned Gold Honors (4.00-3.75). Ashleigh Warner, Laura Young, Josey Hedquist, Erica Birk-Jarvis and Kelsey Braithwaite earned Silver Honors (3.74-3.50) while Emma Gee earned Bronze Honors (3.49-3.00).

For the sixth consecutive year, over 1,000 WCC student-athletes received honors for possessing at least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale. More than 1,414 athletes qualified for recognition, establishing a conference record for the fourth consecutive season.

Only grades earned at WCC institutions may be used in calculating the grade point average for this award. To be considered for this honor, student-athletes must meet the following requirements:

1)    Individuals must have earned a varsity letter in a sport which the conference determined a champion in the recently completed academic year.

2)    The cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 must be based on a 4.0 scale.

3)    The individuals must have successfully completed an average of at least 12 graded credit hours (non pass-fail hours) per term.

Recent Stories

BYU cross country runner Aubrey Frentheway honored as 2022 USTFCCCA All-Academic Athlete.
Frentheway receives third straight USTFCCCA All-Academic honor

BYU women’s cross country runner Aubrey Frentheway was honored for the third consecutive season as a USTFCCCA All-…

Aubrey Frentheway and McKenna Lee-Hansen named to 2022 WCC Women's Cross Country All-Academic First Team
WCC honors Lee-Hansen, Frentheway on All-Academic Team

The West Coast Conference honored BYU’s McKenna Lee-Hansen and Aubrey Frentheway when it released its 2022 Women’s…