Royce Hinton | Posted: 20 Jan 2015 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars recognized at annual awards banquet

main image

PROVO, Utah – BYU women's volleyball closed out the 2014 season with its annual awards banquet Tuesday night at the Nu Skin ballroom.

The Cougars completed their most successful season in program history by advancing to the national championship match of the NCAA tournament, ending with a 30-5 overall record. Additionally, BYU finished first in West Coast Conference play with a 16-2 league record. 

Family and friends gathered together to share a meal, watch highlights from the season and recognize significant accomplishments that took place during the year. 

The following Cougars were recognized for their successes in 2014:

First-Team All-America: Jennifer Hamson
Second-Team All-America: Alexa Gray
All-America Honorable Mention: Amy Boswell
AVCA All-Pacific South Region First Team: Alexa Gray, Jennifer Hamson, Amy Boswell
AVCA All-Pacific South Region Honorable Mention: Whitney Young
Elite 89 Award: Amy Boswell
All-District 8 Academic Regional honors: Amy Boswell
WCC Player of the Year: Alexa Gray
WCC Defensive Player of the Year: Whitney Young
First-Team All-WCC: Alexa GrayJennifer Hamson, Whitney Young
All-WCC Honorable Mention: Amy Boswell
WCC All-Academic First Team: Amy Boswell, Jennifer HamsonTia Withers Welling
WCC All-Academic Honorable Mention: Tambre Nobles, Whitney Young

Additionally, coach Shawn Olmstead was recognized by being named the 2014 WCC Co-Coach of the Year, All-Pacific South Region Coach of the Year and AVCA Division I National Coach of the Year.

Recent Stories

Whitney Bower during pre-game starting lineup introductions against Pepperdine in 2022
Women's volleyball season tickets go on sale July 26

BYU women’s volleyball season tickets for the upcoming 2023 campaign will go on sale beginning Wednesday, July 26.

2022-23 BYU women's volleyball earns USMC/AVCA Team Academic Award
BYU earns 2023 USMC/AVCA Team Academic Award

BYU women’s volleyball was among 201 women's NCAA Division I teams to earn the 2023 United States Marine Corps (USMC)/…