zbrady | Posted: 6 Dec 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars wrap up day 3 of Texas Invite

main image

Texas Invite Day 1 Recap

Texas Invite Day 2 Recap

Texas Invite Day 3

Texas Invite Day 3 Results

AUSTIN, Texas – Co-captains Jake Taylor and Hayden Palmer combined to break three school records for BYU as the Texas Invite wrapped up in Austin, Texas, Saturday.

“We had an amazing meet, it was one of the best we’ve had in many years,” head coach John Brooks said. “Jake (Taylor) and Hayden (Palmer) breaking the records is awesome. Almost everyone that came here had lifetime-best times in at least one event and a lot of season-best times.”

Taylor set new BYU records in the 100-yard backstroke (45.95) and 200 back (1:40.51) while Palmer added a school record in the 200-yard butterfly touching the wall in 1:45.91.

True freshman Luis Ventura finished 13th in the men’s 1,650-yard freestyle coming in with a time of 15:30.34

Haley Bertoldo earned a top-15 finish when she came in at 15th in the women’s 200 back finishing in 2:00.27.

Rafael Alfaro finished 13th in the men’s 200 back touching the wall at 1:59.09.

The BYU women’s 400-yard freestyle relay team finished 14th. The team, made up of Lauren Shaw Taylor, Brenna Dickson, Emily Harris and Andrea Grant Richards, finished the relay in 3:26.94.

McKay King, Alfaro, Palmer and Taylor finished ninth in the 400 free relay, touching the wall in 3:00.11.

The Cougars head to San Diego for training camp Dec. 28-Jan 3. They don’t have their next meet until they head to Tempe, Arizona, Jan. 10 to take on Arizona State.

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…