Tyce Routson
Head Diving Coach
(801) 422-4874
RB 153

Coaching Career

  • BYU head diving coach (2015-)
  • Prior to BYU, worked as National and International Team Director with Mission Viejo Nadadores Diving Team in California

Coaching Accomplishments

  • MPSF Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year (2021-22)
  • Coached Mickey Strauss to MPSF Men's Diver of the Year (2021-22)
  • Coached Kennedy Cribbs to MPSF Women's Diver of the Year (2021-22)
  • Coached BYU divers to 11 MPSF Championships

Diving Career

  • Four-time NCAA Champion and 11-time All-American at Miami (1995-2000)
    • NCAA Champion (10-meter, 2000)
    • NCAA Champion (10-meter & 3-meter, 1997)
    • NCAA Champion (10-meter, 1995)
    • NCAA Bronze Medalist (3-meter, 1995) 
    • NCAA Silver Medalist (2-meter, 1995)
  • Only three-time 10-meter men's diving champion in NCAA history
  • NCAA Diver of the Year (1997)
  • Two-time USA Diving Olympic Trials competitor (1996, 2000); finished as high as sixth. 
  • Inducted into Miami's UM Sports Hall of Fame (2011)
  • Prepped at El Toro High School in Lake Forest, California


  • Happily married to his wife, Allison. They have four daughters.
  • Graduated with a B.B.A. in international finance and marketing from the University of Miami (2000); also minored in Spanish.
  • Served a full-time mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Buenos Aires, Argentina (1997-99)

Tyce Routson, 2021-2022 MPSF Men’s and Women’s Diving Coach of the Year, is entering his eighth season as the BYU Head Diving Coach.  He is coming off a strong season in 2021-2022 with a MPSF Men’s Diver of the Year (Mickey Strauss) and MPSF Women’s Diver of the Year (Kennedy Cribbs).  Kennedy also qualified for the 2022 Women’s NCAA Championships.  The Men’s Team divers added points to help secure the 2022 MPSF Men’s Championship Title for Swim/Dive.

In the 2021 MPSF Conference, only two of the three events were held for the divers.  Routson coached the team to eight top 5 performances which helped the Swim/Dive team to capture the 2021 MPSF Men’s Team Championship.

2020 MPSF Men’s Diving Coach of the Year, Routson coached Mickey Strauss to a sweep the 1 meter, 3 meter and Platform events and solidify a MPSF Diver of the Year Award.

2019 saw success as all 12 members of the Men’s and Women’s Dive Team qualified to the NCAA Zone competition, a first in program history for Routson.

In 2017 BYU Diving had 6 All-Academic scholars from the dive team and every member from the men’s and women’s team made First and Second Teams of All-MPSF Awards.  Finished with Eric Muir receiving the 2017 MPSF Freshman of the Year Award for his 1st title on One meter springboard.

In all, Routson has led BYU divers to 11 individual conference titles and 40 top 3 showings since 2016. In 2016, the Cougars won the MPSF Men’s title, earning the 2016 MPSF Diving Coach of the Year. BYU finished 21st at the NCAA Championships. 

Prior to BYU

Routson is a 4-time NCAA champion and 11-time All-American for the University of Miami Hurricanes. He won 3 NCAA Platform titles and 1 Three-meter title. Tyce was the 1997 NCAA Diver of the Year.  He competed at the 1996 and 2000 USA Diving Olympic Trials placing as high as 6th place.  Inducted to University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame in 2011.

Before being named head diving coach, Routson served as the National and International Team Director at the Mission Viejo Nadadores Diving Team in California.


  • B.B.A. International Finance and Marketing, University of Miami, FL (2000)
  • Minor in Spanish


  • Happily married to Allison.  They have four daughters.
  • Routson served a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from 1997-99.
BYU Hall of Fame