Braden Taylor | Posted: 1 Apr 2021 | Updated: 11 Aug 2021

BYU women’s cross country named National Scholar Team of the Year

main image
BYU WXC - National Scholar Team of the Year

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association named the BYU women’s cross country team the 2020 NCAA Division I National Scholar Team of the Year on Thursday, marking the first time the women's team has won the award in program history.

The Cougars received the national award after winning the program’s fifth national title last month at the 2020 NCAA Cross Country Championships while boasting a cumulative GPA of 3.52. Along with being named National Scholar Team of the Year, the USTFCCCA also included the BYU women’s program on its list of 2020 NCAA Division I Cross Country Women’s All-Academic teams.

Four Cougars picked up individual academic recognition, receiving USTFCCCA All-Academic Athlete honors. Junior Aubrey Frentheway, freshman Lexy Halladay, junior Haley Johnston and junior McKenna Lee Hansen all received All-Academic recognition.

In order to qualify for All-Academic distinction, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale and have either qualified for the national championship meet or finished top-5 at their respective conference championship.

BYU men’s cross country academic awards
Complete list of the USTFCCCA’s academic awards

Recent Stories

BYU cross country runner Aubrey Frentheway honored as 2022 USTFCCCA All-Academic Athlete.
Frentheway receives third straight USTFCCCA All-Academic honor

BYU women’s cross country runner Aubrey Frentheway was honored for the third consecutive season as a USTFCCCA All-…

Aubrey Frentheway and McKenna Lee-Hansen named to 2022 WCC Women's Cross Country All-Academic First Team
WCC honors Lee-Hansen, Frentheway on All-Academic Team

The West Coast Conference honored BYU’s McKenna Lee-Hansen and Aubrey Frentheway when it released its 2022 Women’s…