Kristen Kerr | Posted: 14 Jun 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Six Cougars earn honors at end-of-year banquet

main image

PROVO, Utah – In addition to the various accolades earned during the 2018 softball season, six Cougars were recognized for their performances on and off the field, head coach Gordon Eakin announced at the end-of-year banquet.

Junior catcher Libby Sugg was named the team’s Most Valuable Player. Sophomore outfielder Rylee Jensen received Offensive Player of the Year while sophomore pitcher Kerisa Viramontes was awarded Defensive Player of the Year. Additionally, junior Emilee Erickson earned Most Inspirational Player, as voted by the players and coaches.

Senior pitcher Arianna Paulson and senior third baseman Caitlyn Alldredge both received Academic Player of the Year after earning GPAs of 3.90 and 3.79, respectively, during the 2017-18 academic year.

“As coaches, we are extremely proud of our 2018 Cougar softball team,” Eakin said. “In addition to winning the West Coast Conference Championship, this team set the bar in the classroom. Led by Arianna Paulson and Caitlyn Alldredge, we excelled in the classroom above all past BYU softball teams. They have set the bar high for future teams and players.”

Recent Stories

2023 BYU Softball vs. UCLA at Gail Miller Field
BYU softball to hold walk-on tryouts

BYU softball will hold walk-on tryouts at Gail Miller Field on Friday, Sept. 8 at 2 p.m. MDT.

BYU softball signs transfer Keila Kamoku
Eakin announces signing of infielder Keila Kamoku

BYU softball head coach Gordon Eakin announced the signing of transfer infielder Keila Kamoku on Wednesday.