Anonymous | Posted: 9 Jan 2003 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Divers Finish Strong at the Speedo American Cup

main image

BLOOMINGTON -- The preliminary round of the Speedo American Cup ended Wednesday with seven divers who have current or former ties to BYU placing in the top 25.

Senior Kelli Einfeldt was the only Cougar from this year's team to qualify for the finals to be held Jan. 10-12. Einfeldt captured a 12th place finish on the 3-meter board with a score of 215.55. She was also the only woman from the current roster to compete in the invitational.

For the men, senior Aaron Russell, a two-time All-American, had a strong outing finishing 11th in the 44 man field with a score of 302.45. However, the men's field was so tight that Russell's score was not enough to qualify for the finals.

Senior Justin Beardall, and sophomore Scott Randall also made the trip, finishing 24th and 23rd, with scores of 263.20 and 247.40, respectively.

The Cougars returned home after the competition and will not stay for the finals because the invitational finishes on Sunday.

Former Cougars Rachelle Kunkel, Justin Wilcock, and Andy Bradley were also on hand for the preliminary rounds.

Kunkel, a former two-time All-American at BYU, finished in the top spot for the women, winning the 3-meter event with a score of 287.05.

Wilcock and Bradley both dove for BYU last year, and each received All-American honors. Bradley turned in a score of 327.40, good enough for eighth place.

Wilcock, last year's Mountain West Conference champion in all three diving events, claimed the ninth spot with a 312.80 score. Wilcock has already qualified for the finals of the American Cup on the platform due to his performances earlier this year.

The divers will be back in action this weekend as the men will look to help the No. 22 men's swim team battle No. 24 Washington University on Friday, Jan. 10, at 6 p.m. in the Stephen L. Richards Building. The women also hope to help the women's swim team as they play host to Oregon State University on Saturday, Jan. 11, at 11 a.m.

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…