Adam Haws | Posted: 1 Oct 2022 | Updated: 5 Nov 2022

BYU leads through day one of Intermountain Shootout

main image
Intermountain Shootout recap 1

Grand Junction, Colo. — In a day that featured the Cougars winning 13 of the 22 events, BYU swim and dive will look to continue its momentum into day 2 of the Intermountain Shootout.

The women kicked off the events with a team of Brynn Sproul, Rachel Oyler, Halli Williams and Julia Bartell winning the 200 yard freestyle relay with a time of 1:36.24. 

The men followed up the women's performance with a stellar time of their own. Also in the 200 yard freestyle relay, a veteran team of Brigham Harrison, Abraham Zimmerman, Brad Prolo, and Javier Nicolas posted a time of 1:20.96 to take home the victory.

Sproul took two other wins of her own, one in the 200-yard freestyle, posting a 1:52.90, and another in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 55.98. Teammate Regan Geldmacher took third in the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:54.66. Mackenzie Miller and Abi Furqueron also contributed to the team's success in the 100-yard breaststroke, posting times of 1:04.70 and 1:04.82. 

On the men's side, Brigham Harrison and Abe Barragan placed second and third, respectively, in the 200-yard freestyle with times of 1:40.68 and 1:41.08. In arguably the best event of the day for the men, BYU placed in the top-3 of the 100-yard breaststroke with Josue Dominguez, Brad Prolo, and Evan VanderSluis, finishing with times of 54.76, 55.79, and 55.86.

Freshman Julia Bartell picked up her first individual win of her BYU career in the women's 50-yard freestyle, posting a time of 24.07.

The women and men both closed out the meet with wins in the 1000-yard freestyle. Regan Geldmacher posted a time of 10:30.23 and Abe Barragan clocked a 9:35.60. 

The women's diving team also came out with a win, with Alexia Jackson receiving a score of 273.30 in the 3-meter dive. Mickey Strauss placed second in the 1-meter dive with a score of 310.80. 

The Cougars will look to build on their success tomorrow morning beginning at 10 a.m. MDT.  

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…