Becca Reher | Posted: 17 Jan 2020 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars Take Eight First-Place Finishes against Denver

main image
Tyler Edlefsen competing against Denver

PROVO, Utah – Eight BYU swimmers placed first against Denver on Friday in the first day of competition at the Richards Building Pool. 


The women went on to take the top-two finishes in the 100-yard backstroke as Sproul earned first place with a time of 56.55 and Fie’eiki followed after at 56.64. Sproul continued to impress, taking another win in the 200-yard backstroke at 2:02.10 and Gustafson brought in one for herself, finishing at 23.30 in the 50-yard freestyle. In addition, Katie McBratney took first in the 200-yard breaststroke with a 2:18.00. 

Dominguez represented the men in the 100-yard breaststroke event, taking the win with a 55.30 finish. Tyler Edlefsen also dominated in the men’s 200-yard butterfly and the 400-yard individual medley, earning times of 1:52.43 and 4:00.09, respectively. Matta came through with a first-place finish in the 100-yard butterfly at 50.22. 

Several other swimmers received top-three placements. Dominguez finished only one one-hundredth of a second behind the leader in the men’s 200-yard breaststroke, earning a season-high time of 2:02.03. Roger Woods took second in the 100-yard freestyle at 46.01 and Lindsay Bertoldo placed in second in the 100-yard breaststroke. 

The men and women both placed second in the 200-yard medley relays. A team of Brynn Sproul, Lily Plaudis, Charlotte Fie’eiki and Gwen Gustafson finished with a time of 1:42.62, while a squad of Jake Walters, Josue Dominguez, Javier Matta and Connor Stirling touched at 1:46.56.

The men finished the meet placing first in the 200-freestyle relay, touching in a time of 1:21.38.

The BYU dive team and the women’s swim team will continue competing on Saturday, Jan. 18, at noon MT. The dive team will conclude with finals against Denver, while the women’s swim team will take on Nevada.

File Attachments

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…