Becca Reher | Posted: 22 Nov 2019 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Dominguez Breaks Oldest BYU Swim Record

main image
josue swimming 200 breast

Final Scores

Swim Results Final Day

Dive Results Final Day

PROVO, Utah – Josue Dominguez broke the longest-standing BYU swim record in the 200-yard breaststroke after 21 years on the final day of the Mizzou Invite.  

“I’m really proud of Josue for breaking another school record,” BYU head coach Johns Brooks said. “It was exciting to watch the team chase school records on almost every event. I’m really proud of everyone.”

Dominguez bumped himself from No. 2 to No. 1 in BYU’s school records in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:55.97. 

Several other Cougars claimed No. 2 all-time best spots in their individual events. Brynn Sproul took BYU's No. 2 all-time best spot in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke after swimming an impressive time of 1:56.07. Katie McBratney stole the No. 2 spot in the 200-yard breaststroke, touching at 2:13.19 in finals. In addition, Gwen Gustafson replaced her No. 2 100-yard freestyle time with a time of 49.47. 

For the men, Levi Jensen also shined in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:57.40, earning BYU’s No. 3 all-time best spot. Javier Matta took the to No. 2 in the 200-yard butterfly, posting a time of 1:46.07. 

To end the last day of the invite, a team of Matta, Roger Woods, Dominguez and Connor Stirling took third in the men’s 800-yard freestyle relay, finishing with a time of 6:47.30. 

The divers competed in the platform event and several Cougars represented their team in finals. Kennedy Cribbs placed seventh with a score of 215.75, while Kimble Mahler placed fourth for the men, scoring a 292.50.

A select group will compete in Winter Nationals on Dec. 5-7 at the McCauley Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Georgia. The dive team will compete against Utah on Dec. 6-7 at Ute Natatorium. 

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…