Ari Davis | Posted: 9 Oct 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Gonzales and Holmes win diving events at second day of Intermountain Shootout

main image

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo. –– Men’s diver Nathan Gonzales and women’s diver Elizabeth Holmes received first place awards for BYU at the final day of the Intermountain Shootout held at Colorado Mesa University.

“Overall, we had a great meet,” BYU head coach John Brooks said. “This gives the coaches and athletes something to work from and improve on going into the next meet. The team’s highlights were having top times in some of the diving and swimming events.”

On the final day, Preston Jenkins won two more events. He placed first in the men’s 200-yard IM with a time of 1:53.29 and the men’s 200-yard backstroke with a time of 1:51:91. Those two wins gave him a total of four first-place wins in the two-day competition. Levi Jensen got his first win of the 2017 season in the men’s 50-yard breaststroke with a time of 26.27, besting his seed time of 27.16.

The Cougars also dominated in diving on the second day of competition earning first place in both the women’s and men’s competition. Gonzales again took first place, this time in the 3-meter with a score of 302.55, followed by Matt Denkers in second with a 298.05. Freshman Holmes earned her first BYU win on the 1-meter with a score of 255.95.

Between the two meets, the men’s team defeated Colorado Mesa University, 261.50 to 125.50, but it lost to the Air Force Academy, 228.00 to 165.00.

The women’s team defeated the Air Force Academy, 216.00 to 177.00, and Colorado Mesa University, 281.00 to 112.00, but lost to Colorado State University, 232.50 to 159.50.

The Cougars have three weeks off before traveling to the Pacific Invite in Stockton, California. The meet begins on Oct. 27, at 7:00 p.m. PDT, and continues on Oct. 28, at 10:30 a.m., at Kjeldsen Pool.


Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…