clovelace | Posted: 13 Feb 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Swim and dive teams travel to California for MPSF Championships

main image

PROVO, Utah – Swim and dive teams of BYU travel to California to participate in the annual Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Championships, from Wednesday to Saturday, Feb. 15- Feb. 18.

“This meet is the climax of the season,” head BYU swim coach John Brooks said. “We expect great racing and fast times from our Cougars.”

The BYU men’s team has taken first place at the MPSF Championships for the last three years. This week an additional victory is the goal. After taking fourth place the last two years, the BYU women’s team anticipates this coming week and the opportunity to compete against challenging opponents.  

Besides BYU, six schools will participate in the women’s portion of the meet, including last year’s MPSF Champions UC Davis, Hawai`i, UC Santa Barbara, Pacific, San Diego, and Cal Poly. Because UC Davis and San Diego do not field a men’s swim and dive team, the BYU men’s team will compete against four opponents.

Swim and dive teams will compete in two different locations. The swimming portion will be located at the East Los Angeles College Swim Stadium in Monterey Park, California and the diving will take place at the Rose Bowl Aquatic Center in Pasadena, California. 

All teams will warm-up and practice throughout the day on Wednesday Feb. 15, with a series of swimming medley finals taking place that evening at 6 p.m. PT.

Thursday through Saturday, preliminary events will take place at 10 a.m. and final competition will begin at 6 p.m. The championship trophy will be presented on Saturday evening at 9:15 p.m.

Live results can be found on this link and a live video event page can be found here. A Meet Mobile Application can be downloaded for free, but there is small fee to see results. Daily updates will be posted on the men's and women's schedule pages

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…