Ari Davis | Posted: 5 Mar 2016 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Sorenson shines as BYU wraps week at American Short Course Championship

main image

American Short Course Championship Results-Day 3

AUSTIN, Texas – Payton Sorenson led BYU as the Cougars wrapped a successful week at the American Short Course Championship Saturday morning at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas.

“Everything went really well today,” BYU head coach John Brooks said. “Payton was very impressive with his time in the 50 free and his 100 free split. That 50 free time solidifies his spot in the NCAA Championships. We also were able to have almost all of our swimmers get a season-best or lifetime-best in their events, so overall it was a great day.”

Sorenson clocked an impressive 42.86 100 freestyle split in the 200 free preliminary, then turned around and swam the 50 free in 19.23, a top 10 time in the country. That 50 free solidified his spot in the NCAA Championships later this month. BYU ended the week by meeting four 2016 Olympic Trial cuts. Sorenson made the cut in the 100-meter freestyle. Stephen Richards also met his cut in the 100-meter breaststroke. Preston Jenkins earned two cuts during the week, meeting the time in the 100 and 200-meter backstroke.

In the first event of the morning, Kelly Hatanaka clocked a 2:04.84 in the women’s 200-yard individual medley, good enough for eighth.

Lauren Shaw Taylor placed fifth in the women’s 200 free, posting a 1:49.59 finish.

Stephen Richards was the top BYU finisher in the men’s 100 breaststroke, swimming a 55.24 for eighth.

In the women’s 50 free, Katie Smith posted a 23.70, good enough for eleventh place. Payton Sorenson took first in the men’s preliminary, clocking a 19.23.

BYU will continue its postseason run next with qualified divers competing in the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships Mar. 9-11. 

File Attachments

Recent Stories

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…

NCAAs day 4
Prolo, Strauss close out season for BYU swim and dive at NCAA Championships

The BYU swim and dive teams officially closed out their season as a team Saturday morning, as Mickey Strauss and Brad…