Anonymous | Posted: 15 Nov 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Zac Blair to compete among nation’s best collegiate golfers

main image

PROVO, Utah – Senior Zac Blair will compete in the 2012 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic on Nov. 19 and 20 among the nation’s top collegiate golfers.

The 54-hole tournament, which will take place at El Paso Country Club in El Paso, Texas, features 23 of the nation’s best collegiate golfers from schools around the country.  Blair enters the tournament going a combined 18-under-par over his last two tournaments.

“It’s an honor to get to go play with this type of field and all of the All-Americans,” Blair said “It should be fun. I’m excited to get playing again.”

This year's field includes some of the nation’s top amateurs including 2012 U.S. Amateur champion Steven Fox of Chattanooga and 2012 NCAA Individual Champion Thomas Pieters of Illinois. The tournament, which began in 1974, is known as “The #1 tournament in college golf” according to the Sagarin/Golfweek Performance Index.

“Western Refining is proud to team with the Sun Bowl Association in welcoming the nation’s finest college golfers to El Paso,” said Jeff Stevens, Western Refining CEO. “It is an honor to host one of the most prestigious college golf tournaments in the country. The quality of this year’s field is a testament to the hospitality of El Paso and the reputation of this event.”

Blair, who has finished 20 tournaments in the top-20 during his collegiate career including two individual tournament titles, will be the only golfer to represent the West Coast Conference at the tournament. Past tournament participants include current PGA tour professionals Webb Simpson, Tiger Woods, Davis Love III and Phil Mickelson.

BYU has sent 18 golfers in the past to compete in the College All-America Golf Classic, with Jake Ellison and Daniel Summerhays competing most recently in 2006. The university will receive a $1,000 scholarship with Blair’s participation in the tournament.

Blair competes in the first and second round on Monday with tee times beginning at 8 a.m. MST. Follow the tournament at and


Twitter: @SunBowlGolf

Former BYU golfers who competed in the tournament:

BYU Alumni Year(s) Competed
Oscar Alvarez 2005
Mike Brannan 1975, 1976, 1977
Ramon Brobio 1990
Bobby Clampett 1978, 1979
Keith Clearwater 1981
Jake Ellison 2006
Rick Fehr 1981, 1982, 1983
Brent Franklin 1985, 1986
Billy Harvey 1999
Robert Meyer 1983
Andy Miller 1997, 1998, 1999
Todd Miller 2004
Jim Nelford 1976
Todd Pence 1995
Mike Reid 1974, 1975
Daniel Summerhays 2006
Barry Willardson 1980, 1981
Dick Zokol 1979

Recent Stories

Tyson Shelley hits a shot during the final round of the Utah Championship at Oakridge Country Club.
Shelley finishes 12th at Korn Ferry Utah Championship

Tyson Shelley finished twelfth in his first Korn Ferry Tour start at the Utah Championship at Oakridge Country Club on…

Tyson Shelley hits a shot during the Utah Championship at Oakridge Country Club.
Shelley tied for seventh after first two rounds of the Korn Ferry Utah Championship

BYU golfer Tyson Shelley is tied for seventh after the opening 36 holes of the Korn Ferry Utah Championship at Oakridge…