Anonymous | Posted: 31 Oct 2006 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU Men's and Women's Swim Teams Open Season on the Road

main image

PROVO, Utah (October 31,2006) -- The BYU men's and women's swim teams will begin their seasons on the road this week. The women will swim against New Mexico, New Mexico St. and Northern Arizona in Albuquerque on Thursday. The No. 24 Cougar men will swim against No. 20 SMU in Dallas on Friday. The men's and women's teams will finish the road trip Saturday when both meet up to swim at TCU.

"I expect both meets to be tough," said women's swimming head coach Stan Crump. "TCU will be the tougher of the two meets. They beat us at home last year and will be ready for us on Saturday."

The BYU women have the quad-dual meet on Thursday night and will then travel to TCU on Saturday. The TCU women's swim team is strong in the freestyle sprints and distance events. The Cougar women look to avenge their loss last year to TCU when the Horned Frogs came and beat BYU in Provo.

The No. 24 BYU men open with a tough challenge Friday night against SMU, who has good foreign talent and has traditionally been strong in all the events. The Cougar men will then head to face the Horned Frogs, who are strong in the backstroke and freestyle distance events.

"SMU is going to be tough," said BYU men's swimming head coach Tim Powers. "It's going to be a good meet for us because we match up well against their strengths. I don't know much about TCU, but I know they'll be ready for us."

Thursday night's meet for the BYU women will begin at 6 p.m. MST. while the BYU men's Friday night meet against SMU will begin at 6 p.m. CST. Saturday's meet for both the men's and women's teams against TCU will begin at noon in Fort Worth. All times are local to site.

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…