Anonymous | Posted: 24 Jan 2004 | Updated: 10 May 2011

Cougar Women Win Close One Against Cowboys

LARAMIE -- The BYU women's swimming and diving team defeated Wyoming in a close meet, 125,118, while the 20th ranked men's team defeated the Cowboys easily, 149-90, Saturday afternoon at Corbett Pool.

The Cougar women were winning by just two points going into the 200 free relay and needed to win the race to win the meet. BYU finished 1, 2 in the relay with its "A" team, consisting of Carolyn Wigginton, Nikki Xanthos, Lyndi Juvan and Hannah Palmer, placing first.

"Wyoming has great divers and they jumped out to an early 18-point lead on us," coach Stan Crump said. "The meet was back and forth, but we won on the last relay to give us the victory."

Davis continued her excellent swimming by winning the 200 free and 100 back, and Xanthos followed up her two victories in the 100 breast last week with another win against the Cowboys. Nichole Tolley (50 free) also won for the Cougars.

On the men's side, BYU got off to a quick start by winning both of the diving competitions and didn't look back. Justin Beardall placed first in the 1-meter, while his teammate, Scott Randall, placed first in the 3-meter.

Zach Anderson paced the Cougars in the distance events, placing first in the 1000 and 500 free. Diogo Yabe also won two races at the meet--the 100 fly and the 200 free. Yabe also swam on the 200 free relay team that placed first.

Also winning for the Cougars were Ryan Mullen (50 free), Randy Belliston (400 IM), Mark Chay (100 free) and Gary Tan (100 breast).

The Cougars will close out their conference dual meet schedule on Jan. 30 when they host the University of Utah at the Richards Building Pool.

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…