Adam Haws | Posted: 11 Mar 2023 | Updated: 17 Jul 2023

CSCAA National Invitational Championship comes to a close for BYU swim

main image
NICs day three

ELKHART, Indiana — BYU swim wrapped up its postseason CSCAA National Invitational Championship events Saturday evening at the Elkhart Health & Aquatics Center, with 10 Cougar athletes concluding an outstanding season.

Diego Camacho got the day started for the BYU men's team in the 200-yard backstroke prelim event. Camacho ultimately tied for 12th place among all participants, swimming a 1:46.56. For the women, Emma Marusakova also competed in the event, finishing in 37th place with a 2:02.25

Next up for the men, it was Abraham Zimmerman who competed in the 100-yard freestyle. Zimmerman's 44.79 was good for 20th in the event. Andrew Eliason also competed in the 100 free, swimming a 45.22 to come in 36th place. Halli Williams represent the women in the event, posting a 50.83 to place 31st. 

In the 200-yard breaststroke, Emerson Edwards recorded the highest finish among all Cougar swimmers on the weekend, winning the event outright after swimming a 1:56.14. Will Bonnett also competed in the 200 breast, finishing in 22nd place, posting a 2:00.08. Max Cannon narrowly followed in the event, swimming a 2:01.08 to come in 26th. Mackenzie Miller of the women's team swam a 2:15.63 to place 16th among all competitors. 

Jacob Ballard represented the men's team in the individual final event of the day for the Cougars, as he would go on to swim a 1:47.71, placing 14th in the field. 

In the final event of the morning, a team of Eliason, Bonnett, Zimmerman and Camacho combined to produce the highest relay finish from BYU this weekend, winning the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 2:58.41. 

As the 2022-2023 season comes to an end, senior swimmer Brad Prolo and senior diver Mickey Strauss will make their way to Minneapolis, Minnesota to compete in this years NCAA championships. More information will be provided as the event nears. 

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…