zbrady | Posted: 5 Dec 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU performs well on second day of Colorado Mesa Invite

main image

Colorado Mesa Invite Day 1 Recap

Colorado Mesa Invite Day 2

Colorado Mesa Invite Day 2 Results

Grand Junction, Colo. – BYU competed in day two of the Colorado Mesa Invite in Grand Junction, Colorado, at the El Pomar Natatorium Friday.

Emma Richards, Alyssa Penney, Emily To’o and Sophia Lex got the Cougars off to a strong start with a third-place finish in the women’s 200-yard medley relay.  The relay team touched the wall in 1:47.17 on the first event of the night.

The men’s 200 medley relay team picked up a fourth-place finish when Cameron Clark, Nathan Henderson, Daniel Kelly and Mitchell Allphin finished in 1:34.27.

Junior Dallin Johnson finished fourth in the men’s 400-yard individual medley finishing with a time of 4:07.49.

To’o finished the women’s 100-yard butterfly in 56.70, good enough for a second-place finish.

Henderson picked up another top-3 finish for the Cougars in the men’s 100-yard breaststroke. The junior from England finished third touching the wall in 57.34.

Kelly earned a second-place finish for the Cougars in the men’s 100-yard backstroke finishing in a time of 51.99.

In the last women’s event of the day, the team of Samantha Lingenbrink, Abby Giles, Richards and Sydney Dahl finished third in the 800-yard freestyle relay, earning a time of 7:51.04

BYU will compete tomorrow in the third and final day of the invite tomorrow night and you can track the meet using the live results page. For complete results, visit the men's and women's schedule pages following the meet.

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…