bbivings | Posted: 12 Mar 2014 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Five Cougars head to Zone E Diving Championships

main image

PROVO, Utah – Five BYU divers qualified for the 2014 Zone E Diving Championships taking place this Thursday through Saturday at the Air Force Academy’s Cadet Natatorium in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Nicholas Suder, Matt Hopper and Bryce Farabee compete for the men and Mackenzie Rands and Raleigh Williams Taylor compete for the women in hopes of qualifying for the NCAA Diving Championships.

Suder, Hopper and Taylor return to zones after competing in 2013 for BYU. Last year, Suder reached the finals in the 1-meter (14th with 605.75 points) and 3-meter (14th with 635.90) competitions and Taylor in the 1-meter (18th with 511.85 points).

Thursday’s events begin with the women’s 1-meter preliminaries at 11 a.m. and finals at 2 p.m. The men’s 3-meter follows with preliminaries at 5 p.m and finals at 6:45 p.m. Friday’s events are held in the same fashion with the women’s 3-meter and the men’s 1-meter.

The platform event is on Saturday with the women’s preliminaries at 11 a.m. and finals at 12:50 p.m. The men’s preliminaries begin at 2:50 p.m. and finals at 4:20 p.m. Also on Saturday, eight men and women will be announced as NCAA qualifiers.

For a full event schedule, a list of participating schools and live results check Check back on the women’s home page for results following the meet.

Recent Stories

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…

MPSF Conference Awards - 2023
Men's and women's swim and dive honored in MPSF post-season awards

BYU divers Mickey Strauss and Alexia Jackson were each awarded the 2023 MPSF Diver of the Year award, while Brad Prolo…