wcraft | Posted: 28 Nov 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cutshall named semifinalist for highest honor

main image

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - BYU women's soccer senior defender Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall has been named a semifinalist for the 2012 Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy. 

Cutshall is the first Semifinalists from BYU since the program began having a semifinalist list in 2005. Former players Aleisha Cramer Rose (2003), Jessica Carter (2007), Katie Larkin (2008) and Andrea Willis (2009) were also a part of the Hermann Trophy program, included on the Watch List. 

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate Division I soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.
New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year’s MAC Hermann Trophy winners.
Cutshall started and played in all 24 games this season while leading BYU to its first NCAA Tournament Elite Eight appearance in nine years. She anchored a BYU defense that allowed just 13 goals all season and just two games all year with a 1+ goal performance by its opponent. Cutshall tallied three goals, two assists and 30 shots from the back line and was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year after the Cougars won the conference title outright. 

Before the semifinalists were announced, a larger group of 30 players were listed on the Hermann Trophy Watch List. On the women’s side, Watch List players turned semifinalists include Duke’s Natasha Anasi (Arlington, Texas), UCLA’s Zakiya Bywaters (Las Vegas), North Carolina’sCrystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Florida State’s Ines Jaurena (Charenton-le-Pont, France), BYU’s Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall (Park City, Utah), Boston College’sKristen Mewis (Hanson, Mass.), Virginia’s Carolina Miller (Rockville, Md.), Florida’s Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.), and Penn State’s Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) and Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.).

The top three vote-getters will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.
Complete list of Semifinalists below.
Player Year School
Natasha Anasi JR Duke
Zakiya Bywaters SR UCLA
Daphne Corboz SO Georgetown
Crystal Dunn JR North Carolina
Alina Garciamendez SR Stanford
Maya Hayes JR Penn State
Ines Jaurena SR Florida State
Julie Johnston JR Santa Clara
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall SR BYU
Kristen Mewis SR Boston College
Caroline Miller SR Virginia
Christine Nairn SR Penn State
Kealia Ohai JR North Carolina
Rachel Quon SR Stanford
Erika Tymrak SR Florida

Recent Stories

blue/white game
Cougs open the 2023 season with an offensive battle on South Field

The Cougars took the field for the first time of the 2023 season Saturday night for the annual Blue vs White game.…

Blue vs White game
Cougs kick off 2023 season with Blue vs. White Game

The BYU women's soccer team will take South Field for the Blue vs. White game on Saturday, Aug. 5 at 7 p.m. to kick off…