wcraft | Posted: 6 Nov 2012 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU highlights WCC postseason awards

main image

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The No. 2 BYU women's soccer team highlighted this year's West Coast Conference postseason awards, as voted by the nine WCC head coaches, after going an unbeaten 7-0-1 through league play and winning its first WCC title.  

After leading the nationally-ranked Cougars to their first-ever No. 1 seed, head coach Jennifer Rockwood was named the 2012 WCC Coach of the Year. The No. 1 seed is the best in program history. 

Senior defender Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall was named the 2012 WCC Player of the Year after anchoring a nationally-ranked BYU defense that holds its opponents to an average of just 7.7 shots per game while giving up just 10 goals all season and only four during conference play. Cutshall is a two-time Hermann Trophy Candidate and a finalist for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award. 

Junior goalkeeper Erica Owens was named the 2012 WCC Goalkeeper of the Year in her first year as a starter for the Cougars. Owens' goals-against average, save percentage and total shutouts are first in the WCC and her goals-against average is also ranked 10th in the NCAA. 

Freshman forward Michele Murphy was named the 2012 WCC Freshman of the Year after leading the team with eight goals on the year, and also contributing seven assists and 36 shots. Murphy is tied for 4th in the WCC for total goals and her .40 goals per game is tied for 7th.

Named to the All-WCC First Team are BYU players Cloee Colohan, Cutshall and Jessica Ringwood. Carlee Payne Holmoe, Rachel Manning and Owens were included on the All-WCC Second Team. 

Murphy was also named to the All-WCC Honorable Mention Team and the All-WCC Freshman Team with freshman teammate Paige Hunt

Below is a full breakdown of the All-WCC Awards. 

WCC Player of the Year
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, BYU
WCC Defensive Player of the Year
Kendall Johnson, Portland
WCC Freshman of the Year
Michele Murphy, BYU
WCC Coach of the Year
Jennifer Rockwood, BYU
All-WCC First Team
Player Year School
Cloee Colohan JR BYU
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall SR BYU
Amanda Frisbie JR Portland
Anisa Guajardo SR Pepperdine
Sofia Huerta SO Santa Clara
Kendall Johnson JR Portland
Julie Johnston JR Santa Clara
Michelle Pao JR Pepperdine
Jessica Ringwood SR BYU
Danielle Russell SR San Diego
Lynn Williams So Pepperdine
All-WCC Second Team
Player Year School
Jenni Benger SO Loyola Marymount
Michelle Cruz JR Portland
Carlee Payne Holmoe SR BYU
Mackenzie Krieser SO San Francisco
Rebekah Kurle SO Portland
Rachel Manning JR BYU
Meghan O'Rourke SO San Diego
Erica Owens JR BYU
Whitney Sharpe SR Loyola Marymount
Meleana Shim SR Santa Clara
Allie Vernon JR Santa Clara
All-WCC Honorable Mention
Roxanne Barker (Pepperdine); Taylor Brooke (Portland); Megan Connor (San Francisco); Erin Dees (Portland); Etajha Gilmer (Loyola Marymount); Cricket Harber (Gonzaga); Mariah Hobbs (San Diego); Noelle La Prevotte (Portland); Lauren Luke (Gonzaga); Melinda Madden (Saint Mary's); Morgan Manchester (Gonzaga); Lauren Matheson (Santa Clara); Kelley mcCloskey (San Diego); Cori McGovern (Loyola Marymount); Christina Moberg (San Francisco); Michele Murphy (BYU); Vicki Shimkus (Saint Mary's); Kelsea Smith (Pepperdine); Dani Weatherholt (Santa Clara)
All-WCC Freshman Team
Player School
Jocelyn Blankenship Loyola Marymount
Mandy Davis Pepperdine
Meggie Gulczynski San Diego
Paige Hunt BYU
Devlyn Jeter Portland
Noelle La Prevotte Portland
Lauren Luke Gonzaga
Michele Murphy BYU
McKenna Tollack San Diego
Andi Tostanoski Santa Clara
Dani Weatherholt Santa Clara

Recent Stories

blue/white game
Cougs open the 2023 season with an offensive battle on South Field

The Cougars took the field for the first time of the 2023 season Saturday night for the annual Blue vs White game.…

Blue vs White game
Cougs kick off 2023 season with Blue vs. White Game

The BYU women's soccer team will take South Field for the Blue vs. White game on Saturday, Aug. 5 at 7 p.m. to kick off…