Anonymous | Posted: 10 May 2003 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

BYU Elminated, Watson and Cadiente Selected to All-Tournament Team

main image

SAN DIEGO -- After an emotional win to force another game against the No. 1 seed host Aztecs, BYU (36-17) was eliminated from the MWC Tournament 3-1. The Cougars will now wait to see if the they earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament to be announced Sunday at 8 p.m. on ESPN news.

The Aztecs took a quick 1-0 lead in the first inning as Joann Figueroa led off with a single. She later scored off a Cougar error.

After two more scoreless innings, BYU tied the score in the top of the fourth with as Lauren Watson and Brooke Cadiente singled to to put runner on first and second. Watson later scored off an Aztec error to tie the score at 1-1. She finished the game 2-3.

San Diego State rallied in the bottom of the fourth inning with three straight hits. Jennifer Funk doubled and freshman Bridgette Caron singled to put two runners on base. Joann Figueroa doubled to score both runners and build a 3-1 lead.

BYU made a late push in the top of the seventh inning as senior Cynthia Fallowfield singled and freshman Ashlyn Russel pinch hit for Kate Walker and drew a walk to put runners on first and second.

With two outs and two on, MWC Co-Player of the Year Oli Keohohou stepped up to the plate to face MWC Pitcher of the Year Celena Velasquez. Valasquez won the battle as Keohohou field out to center field to end the game.

Freshman Brooke Boyce (11-6) picked up the loss for the Cougars while Velasquez picked up the win for the Aztecs.

The Mountain West Conference All-Tournament Team will be announced following the conclusion of the championship game between San Diego State and Colorado State.

2003 Mountain West Conference All-Tournament Team 

Brooke Cadiente, Sr., BYU

Lauren Watson, So., BYU

Megan Masser, Jr., Colorado State

Steph Roberts, So., Colorado State

Ricki Walker, Jr., Colorado State

Joann Figueroa, Jr., San Diego State

Jacque Vaca, Jr., San Diego State

Celena Velasquez, Fr., San Diego State

Lynsey Wall, Fr., Utah

Designated Player: Melanie Laffoon, Fr., Colorado State

Tournament MVP: Megan Masser, Colorado State

Recent Stories

2023 BYU Softball vs. UCLA at Gail Miller Field
BYU softball to hold walk-on tryouts

BYU softball will hold walk-on tryouts at Gail Miller Field on Friday, Sept. 8 at 2 p.m. MDT.

BYU softball signs transfer Keila Kamoku
Eakin announces signing of infielder Keila Kamoku

BYU softball head coach Gordon Eakin announced the signing of transfer infielder Keila Kamoku on Wednesday.