Royce Hinton | Posted: 30 May 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Six Cougars receive MPSF All-Academic honors

main image

PROVO, Utah – Six Cougars received 2017 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic honors, MPSF Director Al Beaird announced Tuesday.

Leo Durkin, Price Jarman, Jake Langlois, Joseph Grosh, Tim Dobbert and Erik Sikes all received accolades for BYU.

To be nominated for the award, student-athletes must be nominated by their institutions based on the following criteria:

1. 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average.

2. Student-athlete must be at least a sophomore academically.

3. Student-athlete must have completed one full academic year at the institution prior to the season for which the award is received.

4. Student-athlete must have competed in 50 percent or more of the institution’s competition in his or her respective sport.

Student-Athlete, GPA, Year, Position, Hometown/Last School


1. Leo Durkin, 3.42, Jr., S, Las Vegas, Nev./Centennial HS

2. Price Jarman, 3.64, Jr., MB, Las Vegas, Nev./Bonanza HS

3. Jake Langlois, 3.30, Sr., OH, San Jose, Calif./Santa Teresa HS

4. Joseph Grosh, 3.38, Sr., MB, Danville, Calif./San Ramon Valley HS

5. Tim Dobbert, 3.00, Jr., OPP, Aichelberg, Germany/Claude Dornier

6. Erik Sikes, 3.26, So., L, Laguna Niguel, Calif./Santa Margarita Catholic


BYU had the third-most student-athletes honored by the conference. UC San Diego was first with nine, followed by Cal Baptist with seven and BYU with six. UCLA also had six.

In 2017, the Cougars won the MPSF regular season title before advancing to the national championship match of the NCAA tournament.

Visit the MPSF men’s volleyball website to see the complete list of winners.

Recent Stories

Teon Taylor is named to the Academic All-District Team
Taylor named to 2023 CSC Academic All-District Team

Sophomore middle blocker Teon Taylor received College Sports Communications (CSC) Academic All-District honors, the…

Kupono Browne, Mitch Worthington and Teon Taylor named MPSF All-Academic
Three Cougars named to 2023 MPSF All-Academic team

Three members of the BYU men's volleyball team were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation men's volleyball…