wweekes | Posted: 7 Sep 2011 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Cougars Host Utah Fall Tennis Classic

main image

PROVO, Utah – The BYU men’s tennis team will host the Utah Fall Tennis Classic, open to professional, collegiate and junior players Thursday at the BYU Outdoor Tennis Courts.

The Cougars, who finished last season ranked No. 36 nationally, welcome back three returners while adding four new freshmen to the team – Keaton Cullimore, David Doehring, Dean Ormsby and Francis Sargeant.

Cullimore competed in last year’s Fall Classic as a junior participant and took the Doubles title with partner Jon Pearce, son of BYU head coach Brad Pearce. This weekend will also be sophomore Patrick Kawka’s second Fall Classic appearance. Last year Kawka battled his way to the semifinals in both singles and doubles before falling to Cullimore and Pearce in doubles and previous Cougar teammate Evan Urbina in singles.

BYU is on a four-year winning streak, with a player taking the singles title every year since 2007. In doubles, the Cougars are looking to return to taking the title.

In addition to BYU, players from Boise State and University of Utah will compete in the tournament.

The tournament runs from Thursday to Saturday. The athletes will begin play at 9 a.m. at the BYU Outdoor Tennis Courts, located behind the Smith Fieldhouse. Admission is free and matches are open to the public.

Spectators may park in the “Y Lot” parking lot after 4 p.m. on Thursday and Friday and all day Saturday.

This event is sanctioned by the United States Tennis Association. The collegiate athletes do not represent their schools in this tournament, but participate as individuals.

To access more information on the tournament, click here

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…