Norma Bertoch | Posted: 30 Apr 2010 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Team Falls to TCU at MWC Champs

main image

LAS VEGAS (Apr. 30, 2010) No. 35 BYU, the top seed in the MWC Men’s Tennis Championships, fell in semifinal action 4-2 to TCU, Friday.

BYU freshman Spencer Smith put the Cougars on the scoreboard with a straight sets victory over Soren Goritzka 6-4, 6-3 at the number five singles spot after TCU had taken the doubles point with victories at number one and three singles.

The Horned Frogs would get a 3-1 advantage in singles play with wins at number one and number three.

In number two singles Evan Urbina defeated TCU’s Zach Nichols in straight sets 7-6 (7-5), 7-6 (7-5) to bring the Cougars within one 3-2, but that would be as close as they would get.

After losing the first set 6-4, BYU’s number three singles player Georgy Batrakov took the second set over Marius Cerstea 7-5, but could not come back in the third.

Senior Cassidy Mears dropped the first set at the number four singles position but came back to win the second 7-5 and was up 2-1 in the third when TCU sealed the victory at the number six position.

The Cougars won the MWC regular season title going undefeated 6-0 and have compiled a 21-6 overall record.

BYU now awaits a possible invitation to compete in the 2010 NCAA Championships. The team and individual pairings will be announced on Tues., May 4.


No. 1 Seed BYU-2

No. 4 Seed TCU-4

Doubles: (order of finish 3, 1)

1.No.37 Christopher Price/Emanual Brighiu (TCU) def. Thomas Shubert/Cassidy Mears (BYU) 8-4

2.Georgy Batrakov/Daniel Hwang (BYU) v. Soren Goritzka/Cameron Nash (TCU) DNF

3.Zach Nichols/Paul Chappell, (TCU) def. Ricardo Campos/Evan Urbina (BYU) 8-5

Singles: (order of finish 5, 1, 3, 2, 6)

1.Emanuel Brighiu (TCU) def. Thomas Shubert (BYU) 7-6 (7-4), 6-1

2.Evan Urbina (BYU) def. Zach Nichols (TCU) 7-6 (7-5), 7-6 (7-5)

3. Marius Cirstea (TCU) def. Georgy Batrakov (BYU) 6-4, 5-7, 6-1

4. Cassidy Mears (BYU) v. Christopher Price (TCU) DNF

5.Spencer Smith (BYU) def. Soren Goritzka (TCU) 6-4, 6-3

6. Paul Chappell (TCU) def. Daniel Hwang (BYU 6-4, 6-4

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…