Anonymous | Posted: 26 Mar 2010 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

UCSB Stuns Men's Tennis

main image

SANTA BARBARA -- In the second meeting of the season between No. 31 BYU and UC Santa Barbara, the Gauchos avenged their earlier loss with a 4-3 upset in California Friday.

The Cougars’ doubles pair of Cassidy Mears and Spencer Smith fell 8-3 at the No. 2 position. Juniors Evan Urbina and Daniel Hwang notched a win on court three at 8-5. At the No. 1 spot, Georgy Batrakov and Thomas Shubert fought hard but dropped a 9-7 decision to give the Gauchos the first point of the day.

BYU and UCSB split the singles matches with each team recording three wins. Urbina, and Smith earned straight-set victories for the Cougars on courts two and five, respectively. Batrakov overcame Matthieu Forget in a three-set battle for the third BYU win. The Gauchos took the remaining matches in straight sets to slip past the Cougars 4-3.

Saturday, the team will try to bounce back against Loyola Marymount. First serve is set for 9:30 a.m. PT at the LMU Tennis Center in Los Angeles. Live stats will be available for the match against Loyola Marymount. To follow along, click here.


No. 31 BYU-3



1. Scott Hohenstein/Evan Jurgensen (UCSB) def. Shubert/Batrakov 9-7

2. Lucas Sudow/Benjamin Recknagel (UCSB) def. Mears/Smith 8-3

3. Urbina/Hwang def. Chavez-Goggin/Caledonia (UCSB) 8-5


1. P. Therp (UCSB) def. T. Shubert (BYU) 6-2, 6-2

2. E. Urbina (BYU) def. L. Sudow (UCSB) 6-3, 6-4

3. B. Recknagel (UCSB) def. C. Mears (BYU) 7-5, 6-2

4. G. Batrakov (BYU) def. M. Forget (UCSB) 6-3, 4-6, 6-2

5. S. Smith (BYU) def. T. Chavez-Goggin (UCSB) 6-2, 6-2

6. M. Glenn (UCSB) def. M. Eraso (BYU) 6-1, 6-4

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…