Anonymous | Posted: 12 Feb 2010 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Win Streak Continues With Upset at Denver

main image

DENVER -- It was a hard-fought battle between two unbeaten teams on Friday night, with the No. 60 BYU men's tennis team recording a 4-3 upset victory over No. 53 Denver. With the win the Cougars improve to a perfect 7-0 on the season, while snapping the Pioneers' six-match winning streak.

BYU secured the doubles point with opening wins on courts two and three. Evan Urbina and Spencer Smith defeated their Denver opponents 8-5 to start the night. Daniel Hwang and Georgy Batrakov were next to follow with a close 9-8 win.

Both teams won three points in singles play, with Urbina starting things off once again. He posted a 6-0, 6-4 win over DU's David Simson. Batrakov pulled out a 7-6, 7-5 win on court four to give BYU a 3-0 overall lead.

The Pioneers recorded consecutive three-set wins at the Nos. 6, 5 and 1 positions to tie the match, 3-3.

After losing the first set 7-6, senior Cassidy Mears showed his experience as he came back to win the following two, claiming a 6-7, 6-3, 7-6 win over DU freshman, Fabio Biasion. Mears' individual victory also clinched the overall win for BYU.

The Cougars continue play in Denver on Saturday with a match against Drake scheduled for 7 p.m. MT.

Tennis Match Results

BYU vs Denver Pioneers - Men

Feb 12, 2010 at Denver, Colo.

#60 BYU 4, #53 Denver Pioneers - Men 3


1. Landwerlen/Simson def Shubert/Mears 8-7

2. Urbina/Smith def Weihs/Vorkefeld 8-5

3. Hwang/Batrakov def. Bonin/Biasion 9-8

Order of Finish 2,3,1


1. Weihs def Shubert 4-6 7-6, 6-3

2. Urbina def Simson 6-0 6-4

3. Mears def Biasion 6-7 6-3 7-6

4. Batrakov def Bonin 7-6 7-5

5. Landwerlen def Warias 6-3 4-6 6-4

6. Vorkefeld def 4-6 6-2 6-2

Order of Finish 2,4,6,5,1,3

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…