Anonymous | Posted: 12 Sep 2009 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Utah Fall Classic Draws to a Close

main image

Click to watch the video.

PROVO -- A warm and breezy morning ended with a postponed all-BYU singles final and Boise State doubles champions on the last day of the Utah Fall Tennis Classic.

“It was a good first tournament to see where everybody is at and what we need to work on,” BYU assistant coach Zack Warren said.

Four players dwindled to two in singles as BYU’s Cassidy Mears and Evan Urbina advanced to the finals after winning their respective semifinal matches. Mears made quick work of teammate Thomas Shubert in his 6-1, 6-3 victory.

Urbina, on the other hand, found that junior player Tyler Loong was more than he bargained for. Loong clinched a close first set 7-5 before the BYU junior stormed back to take the second 6-0. Both players seemed to find a rhythm in the decisive third set with Urbina pulling away for a 7-5 result.

Boise State’s Alex Bothe and Erik Sheldon dashed any hope of featuring only Cougars in both finals with their win over Georgy Batrakov and Thomas Shubert. Despite getting down early in the match, the BYU tandem recovered to force a 9-7 scoreline in the end.

Bothe and Sheldon maintained their pace in the final and gave Mears and Urbina their stiffest competition of the tournament and handed them an 8-4 loss to claim the doubles title.

“It was great to have Boise State and Utah here giving us good competition,” Warren said. “It was nice to see BYU players in the finals of both singles and doubles.”

Because of time constraints, the singles final between Mears and Urbina will be played later this week.

For final results, click here.

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…