Anonymous | Posted: 17 Apr 2004 | Updated: 17 Apr 2004

Lobos Edge Cougars for Title

SALT LAKE -- The No. 72-ranked BYU men's tennis team fell just short of clinching its fifth consecutive win as New Mexico defeated the Cougars in a grueling 4-3 come-from-behind win today claiming sole possession of the regular season conference title. Last year the Cougars shared the title with the Lobos along with San Diego State.

BYU clinched the important doubles point early in the match with wins at all three spots, but the Lobos were too strong in singles pushing past the Cougars after being down 3-2 in the match.

"They were very tough today," head coach Brad Pearce said. "It was a disappointing loss today, especially after being up one point."

The deciding match was at the No. 5 spot where Cougar Dominik Kaufhold defeated Jasmin Hodzic in the first set but fell in the second, giving New Mexico the victorious fourth point.

Erik Nyman (No. 50) fell at the No. 1 position to No. 27-ranked Divan Cotzee of New Mexico 4-6, 6-2, 6-1. However, the Cougars saw wins from Nima Roshan and Alonzo Medina.

The BYU men's tennis team will head home to prepare for the Mountain West Conference Championships in San Diego April 29-May 1.

BYU 3, New Mexico 4


Nyman/Roshan (BYU) def. (UNM) 9-7

Dasek/Kaufhold (BYU) def. (UNM) 8-4

Hand/Medina (BYU) def. (UNM) 8-5


Divan Cotzee (UNM) def. Erik Nyman (BYU) 4-6, 6-2, 6-1

David Kowalski (UNM) def. Richard Dasek (BYU) 6-2, 6-3

Ryan Stotland (UNM) def. Chip Hand (BYU) 6-2, 6-1

Nima Roshan (BYU) def. Henry Gers (UNM) 6-2, 1-6, 6-2

Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) def. Dominik Kaufhold (BYU) 4-6, 6-2, 6-3

Alonzo Medina (BYU) def. Robert Grzeskowiak (UNM) 6-3, 7-6

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…