Cameron Muh | Posted: 6 May 2021 | Updated: 17 Aug 2021

Hill, Barnett and Gajardo Earn All-WCC Honors

main image
Sean Hill, Jack Barnett & Ben Gajardo: All-WCC Honors
Sean Hill All-WCC First Team Singles Jack Barnett All-WCC Second Team Singles Ben Gajardo All-WCC Singles Honorable Mention Jack Barnett & Ben Gajardo All-WCC First Team Doubles

SAN MATEO, Calif. — Three Cougars were named to All-WCC men's tennis teams, the West Coast Conference announced Thursday. Sean Hill earned All-WCC First Team Singles honors, Jack Barnett earned All-WCC Second Team Singles honors, and Ben Gajardo was named All-WCC Singles Honorable Mention. Barnett and Gajardo also earned All-WCC First Team Doubles honors. 

With a team-high 17 singles wins, Hill finished the season 17-2 (6-1 WCC) and on a five-match win streak. Hill competed in the No. 1 spot all year and was named WCC Singles Player of the Week once this season. This is Hill's third All-WCC First Team Singles honor.

After sitting out a few matches early in the season, Barnett returned to the lineup and played in the No. 2 spot for the majority of the season. He finished 7-4, with a 4-2 record in WCC play. This is Barnett's first All-WCC honor.

Gajardo competed in spots No. 2 - No. 5 throughout the season, tallying the team's second-most singles wins with 14. He finished 14-3 (4-1 WCC) on the year. Gajardo was also named All-WCC Singles Honorable Mention in 2017-18. 

Barnett and Gajardo were 9-1 on the year, including 6-1 in WCC play. The duo recorded the Cougars' second-most doubles wins and closed the season on a four-match win streak. Barnett and Gajardo were named the WCC Doubles Team of the Week twice this season. Gajardo previously earned All-WCC Second Team Doubles in 2018-19.

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…