mwood | Posted: 9 Apr 2016 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Monroe, No. 65 Cougars defeat Dons to pick up fifth WCC win

main image

BYU vs. USF box score

SAN FRANCISCO—Shane Monroe and the No. 65 BYU men’s tennis team picked up their fifth win of West Coast Conference Play by defeating San Francisco 4-0 Saturday.

“It was a tough weekend of tennis, but it’s exactly what we expect in conference play against good, competitive teams,” BYU head coach Brad Pearce said. “All of our players battled extremely hard at every position. We had to dig deep to win. It feels great to return home with two well-deserved conference wins.”

For the second time this weekend, BYU (16-5, 5-1 WCC) took the doubles point. Keaton Cullimore and Jeremy Bourgeois defeated the Dons' duo of Ryan Marker and Worvian Kumthonkittikul 6-4 to take the first match. Teammates Shane Monroe and Andrey Goryachkov lost to San Francisco’s Nils Skajaa and Vasco Valverde 4-6 to even the doubles matches at one apiece. However, John Pearce and Jacob Sullivan came from behind to clinch the doubles point for the Cougars, defeating Thomas Takemoto and Christian Brockstedt 7-5.

Aidan Carrazedo increased the lead for BYU to 2-0 after he defeated Brockstedt in straight sets, 6-4, 6-4. Goryachkov defeated Valverde 7-6, 6-2 to claim the third point of the night for the Cougars. Monroe clinched the match for the Cougars by holding off Skajaa in the No. 1 singles spot, winning the match 6-2, 3-6, 7-6. All other matches were left unfinished, as BYU had already won the match. San Francisco falls to 4-16, 1-5 in WCC play.

BYU will host its final home match of the 2016 season against Pepperdine on Friday, Apr. 15, at 2:00 p.m. MDT. Admission is free to the public. Click here for live stats of the match.

File Attachments

Recent Stories

Welcome back Zack Warren BYU men's tennis headshot with text
Zack Warren named BYU head men’s tennis coach

BYU Director of Athletics Tom Holmoe has announced Zack Warren as BYU head men’s tennis coach.

ITA All-Academic honors
Fuchs, Owen earn ITA All-Academic honors

Zach Fuchs and Redd Owen were named 2023 Division I Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic scholar…