clovelace | Posted: 7 Apr 2017 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Awards and all-conference teams named by MPSF

main image

PROVO, Utah –  Eric Muir was named MPSF Freshman of the Year and all-conference teams were announced by the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation as the 2016-2017 season ends.

Freshman of the Year Award:

Muir, from Mesa, Arizona, collected the most amount of total points for any first-year athlete at the MPSF Championships. He posted 347.90 in the 1-meter to win a conference title, while earning 323.30 points on platform to place him in second. On the 3-meter, Muir took fourth place with 356.40 total points. He earned all-conference honors in all three events and additionally made the first team on the 1-meter and platform.

Most recently, Muir competed in the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships and finished in the top 20 throughout all three events.

“Eric has brought much to the team this year, including his positive energy and willingness to try,” BYU head dive coach Tyce Routson said. “He has improved tremendously and has fine-tuned the details of his diving performance, which has payed dividends in his freshman year. We saw glimpses of the greatness that is to come after he returns from a mission to Argentina. I can't wait to have him back on the team and to see his continual progress."

Muir is the second freshman to receive this award at BYU. Payton Sorenson earned the MPSF Freshman of the Year during his first season at BYU in 2013.

All-Conference Teams:

Nine of BYU’s swimmers and divers were named to the All-MPSF First Team, while 25 made the second team. The top three swimmers or divers at the MPSF conference meet in each individual event are named to the first team and the next five swimmers are named to the second team. For relay events, the top team is named to the all-conference first team and the next two teams to finish are named to the second team. 

First Team  
Men Event
Payton Sorenson 50 Free, 100 Free
Eric Muir 1-Meter, Platform
Kevin Dreesen 1-Meter, 3-Meter
Preston Jenkins 200 Free, 200 Back
Matt Denkers 3-Meter, Platform
Luis Ventura 200 Fly
Women Event
Morgan Mellow 1-Meter, Platform
Anna Dahl 100 Breast
Lauren Shaw Taylor 200 Back
Second Team  
Men Event
Preston Jenkins 200 IM, 200 and 400 Free Relay
Roger Woods 200 and 400 Free Relay
Kent Fellows 200 Free Relay
Payton Sorenson 200 and 400 Free Relay
Matt Denkers 1-Meter
Trayton Speth 1-Meter, Platform
Ryan Evans 1-Meter, 3-Meter, Platform
Jordan Tuckfield 1-Meter, 3-Meter, Platform
Luis Ventura 100 Fly
Rainer Ng 100 Back, 200 Fly
Eric Muir 3-Meter
Jarren Brinton 1650 Free
Cameron Lindsay 200 Breast
Kevin Dreesen Platform
Jacob Rees 400 Free Relay
Women Event
Riley Merrill 200 IM
Erica (Keyka) Lienhard 1-Meter
Lauren Shaw Taylor 100 Back
Ashlee Spindler 100 Back, 200 Back
Morgan Mellow 3-Meter
Vanessa Moffatt 1650 Free, 200 Fly
Emma Richards 200 Back
Anna Dahl 200 Breast
Kaitlyn Abernethy Platform
Shelby Johnson Platform

Recent Stories

Diego Camacho Salgado prepares to swim for BYU at 2022 meet versus Air Force.
Camacho Salgado represents Mexico at World Aquatics Championships

BYU swimmer Diego Camacho Salgado represented his native home country of Mexico at the World Aquatics Championships…

Four BYU swim and dive athletes names 2023 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.
Four BYU swim and dive athletes named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

Four BYU swim and dive athletes were honored as 2023 Scholar All-Americans when the College Swimming and Diving Coaches…