Anonymous | Posted: 1 Nov 2008 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020

Taking First and Second Place

main image

SAN -- After maintaining the conference title and securing year two of second place, the BYU cross country teams return home victorious from the Mountain West Conference Championships in San Diego.

Going into its fifth straight win, the men’s cross country team placed first overall with 36 points, beating out Air Force, New Mexico, Colorado State, Wyoming and TCU. Cougar men's coach Ed Eyestone was named MWC Coach of the Year.

Coming in first for the Cougars and third over all in the men’s 8K, was senior Stephan Shay with a time of 24:26. Fourth place went to Kyle Perry (24:40), sixth to Dan Hinckley (24:42), 11th to Jacob Gustafsson (25:01) and Nate Ogden (25:02) coming in 12th overall to in the top five for the Cougars.

After losing to CSU last year, the women’s team hoped to regain the Championship title and defeat the Rams. While unable to capture the title, the Cougars placed second overall with a score of 33, losing by two points to New Mexico.

“We ran our best as a team, but we just came up a little short,” said BYU women’s cross country head coach Patrick Shane. “I’m proud of our athletes and how they battled and I’m excited for us to run at Regionals.”

Junior Angela Wagner placed first overall with a time of 21:24, despite recovering from a hamstring injury earlier in the week. Fifth overall was Anna Sperry (21:39), sixth Katy Andrews (21:43), ninth Stacy Slight (21:58) and Cecily Lemmon came in 12th overall closing in the top five for BYU.

“This was really good race for us,” said Wagner. “We still have some work to do, but it was so close for our team and if we really push hard these next few weeks we can do really well at Regionals. I'm looking forward to it.”

The women fell to first-place New Mexico but defeated Utah, third, Colorado State, fourth, Wyoming, fifth, Air Force, sixth, UNLV, seventh, TCU, eighth, and San Diego State, ninth.

Three Cougars were named from the men's squad to the All-MWC team: Shay, Perry, and Hinckley, while Jacob Gustafsson, Ogden, and Richard Nelson were named to the second team. Three BYU runners were also named from the women's squad: Wagner, Sperry, and Andrews along with teammates Slight, and Cecily Lemmon being named to the second team.

Both teams take a week off to prepare for the NCAA Regionals in Fort Collins, Colo. This regional meet will be on Nov. 15. with the men's race beginning at 11 A.M. MST and the women's race at 12:15 P.M. MST.

Mountain West Conference Championships

November 1, 2008

Women’s 6K

1.New Mexico, 31

2.BYU, 33

3.Utah, 77

4.Colorado State, 121

5.Wyoming, 143

6.Air Force, 175

7.UNLV, 190

8.TCU, 195

9.San Diego State, 239

1.Angela Wagner, BYU, 21:24

2.Lacey Oeding, New Mexico, 21:30

3.Carolyn Boosey, New Mexico, 21:34

4.Alyssa Abbott, Utah, 21:37

5.Anna Sperry, BYU, 21:39

6.Katy Andrews, BYU, 21:43

7.Nicky Archer, New Mexico, 21:47

8.Leslie Luna, New Mexico, 21:55

9.Stacy Slight, BYU, 21:58

10.Ellie Rastall, Colorado State, 21:59

Men’s 8K

1.BYU, 36

2.Air Force, 62

3.New Mexico, 64

4.Colorado State, 114

5.Wyoming, 116

6.TCU, 156

1.Mark Korir, Wyoming, 24:22

2.Festus Kigen, TCU, 24:25

3.Stephan Shay, BYU, 24:26

4.Kyle Perry, BYU, 24:40

5.Jacob Kirwa, New Mexico, 24:40

6.Dan Hinckley, BYU, 24:42

7.Sean Houseworth, Air Force,24:51

8.Matt Williams, Air Force, 24:52

9.Rory Fraser, New Mexico, 24:57

10.Mat Ashton, New Mexico, 25:00

Recent Stories

BYU men's track and field honored as John McDonell Program of the Year.
BYU men recognized as John McDonnell Program of the Year

The BYU men’s track and field and cross country program has been named the 2022-2023 John McDonnell NCAA Division I Men…

Five Men Win USTFCCCA All-Academic Awards
Five Cougars Receive USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

BYU men’s cross country had five athletes receive 2022 NCAA Division I All-Academic honors, the U.S. Track & Field…