Brigham Young University
Mar 11 | 12:00 AM Mar 12 | 12:00 AM Mar 13 | 12:00 AM
Becca Reher | Posted: 13 Mar 2019 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020
Becca Reher

Divers End Postseason with Zone E Championships


FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – The BYU dive team finished its postseason with the NCAA Zone E Championships Wednesday at the Douglas J. Wall Aquatic Center.

“This meet is a very intense competition for the divers,” BYU head coach Tyce Routson said. “You must stay consistent and steady just to have a chance at qualifying for the NCAA Championships. I am so proud that every diver on the team was able to qualify to compete here at zones this year.”

Adia London represented her team well by recording the highest 3-meter score for BYU women at Zones since 2015. In addition, London finished 15th in the platform finals, becoming the first BYU female diver to finish in the top 15 in over 10 years.

On the first day of the competition, Bryce Farabee performed well in the 1-meter prelims, qualifying for the final round where he placed seventh and earned a career-best score of 299.95. In the 3-meter, Farabee found himself in the finals again, placing 15th with a score of 289.50.

Nathan Gonzales earned a qualifying placement at eighth during the prelims. In finals, he took 10th with a score of 281.65.


Becca Reher | Posted: 7 Mar 2019 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020
Becca Reher

Dive Team Travels to Zones


PROVO, Utah – The entire BYU dive team heads to Flagstaff, Arizona, to compete in the 2019 NCAA Zone E Diving Championships from March 11-13 at the Douglas J. Wall Aquatic Center.

“The divers will face their toughest competition of the year, but they have continued to impress and improve throughout the season,” BYU head diving coach Tyce Routson said. “I am amazed by their hard work and dedication and know they can rise to this challenge. They know how to trust in their skills and need to remember that they can contend with the competition ahead of them.”

The three-day diving events will determine who will qualify to participate in the NCAA tournament. All men and women from the dive team have qualified in at least one event during the regular season or at the conference championships to earn a spot at Zones.

Morgan Cooper and Nathan Gonzales qualified to compete in all three events for the men, while Kennedy Cribbs and Adia London earned qualifying times in all three events on the women’s side.

The Cougars will compete against 32 other diving programs. For the 1-meter, the top-nine women and top-five men will continue on to compete at the final NCAA competition. In addition, the top-nine women and top-seven men will qualify for the 1-meter events along with the top-eight scores for the women and top-seven scores for the men in platform.

The competition begins on Monday with the women’s 3-meter prelims at 11:30 a.m. MST and finals following at 3:10 p.m. MST. The men’s 1-meter prelims will also begin at 11:30 a.m. MST with their finals following at 1:20 p.m. MST. The women’s 1-meter and men’s 3-meter events will occur at the same times the following day. On the final day, the women’s platform will begin at 11:00 a.m. MST and the men’s will start at 3:45 p.m. MST. 

Live results will be available on