Brigham Young University
Mar 05 | 12:00 AM Mar 07 | 12:00 AM
Douglas J. Wall Aquatic Center

705 S. San Francisco Street Flagstaff AZ 86011

Ari Davis | Posted: 5 Mar 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020
Ari Davis

Three BYU divers compete in finals on first day of Zone E Championships


FLAGSTAFF, Ariz. – Matt Denkers, Nathan Gonzales and Morgan Cooper qualified to compete in the men’s 3-meter finals on the first day of the Zone E Championships.  

In the men’s 3-meter, Denkers recorded a score of 306.70 for 12th place, Gonzales posted a score of 297.70 for 14th place and Cooper earned a 294.35, all qualifying for finals.

In finals, Denkers recorded a final score of 636.65 for 11th place, Gonzales followed in 12th with a 626.50 and Cooper finished with a score of 580.25 for 16th place.

Elizabeth Holmes recorded the highest BYU women’s 1-meter score of the day at 214.55 in prelims. Morgan Mellow and Morgan Paul also competed, earning scores of 202.10 and 198.95, respectively.

The competition continues Tuesday morning at 11 a.m. MST with the women’s 3-meter at the Douglas J. Wall Aquatic Center. Live results are available at


Ari Davis | Posted: 2 Mar 2018 | Updated: 8 Nov 2020
Ari Davis

Dive team to compete in Zone E Diving Championships


PROVO, Utah –  Eight divers head to Arizona to compete in the Zone E Diving Championships from March 3-5 to determine who will compete at the NCAA tournament.

Divers qualify to compete in the Zone E Diving Championships by earning a pre-determined score for the men’s and women’s 1-meter, 3-meter and platform during the regular season or conference championships.

BYU will compete against 20 other teams including Utah, Grand Canyon, USC, University of Wyoming, UNLV and Hawai’i.  The top nine on the women’s 1-meter, top five on the men’s 1-meter, top nine on the women’s 3-meter, top seven on the men’s 3-meter, top eight on the women’s platform and top seven on the men’s platform will continue on to compete at the NCAA’s.

Nathan Gonzales and Matt Denkers qualified to compete in all three events, Morgan Cooper and Bryce Farabee will compete on the 1-meter and 3-meter, while Kimble Mahler will compete on the 1-meter. For the women, Elizabeth Holmes will compete on the 1-meter, Morgan Paul on the 3-meter and Morgan Mellow will compete on platform.

The competition begins on Monday, March 5 with the women’s 1-meter prelims at 11:00 a.m. MST and finals at 2:35 p.m. MST. The women compete in the 3-meter the following day at the same times. The men compete on Monday in the 3-meter prelims at 5:35 p.m. MST and finals at 7:20 p.m. MST. The following day the men compete in the 1-meter at the same times.

Both the men and women compete on that platform Wednesday with the women’s prelims at 11:00 a.m. MST and finals at 1:35 p.m. MST. The men will compete in prelims at 3:50 p.m. MST with finals at 5:35 p.m. MST.

The competition is held at Northern Arizona University at the Douglas J. Wall Aquatic Center in Flagstaff, Arizona. Live results will be available on